Sort:  

Nice roadmap! I hope 2017 will not be too short to accomplish all of this! Good luck anyhow.

If you are interested in learning new technologies, I would like to tackle machine learning seriously this year. Dunno whether you could be interested by that.

Machine learning / computer vision was my thesis and the only favourite part of my formal education lol :) It's been quite some time and I'm sure the field has opened a whole lot, even for casual data scientists! Yes, it'd be good to get into it again. Very interested!

(I will definitely not achieve it all in the list lol! Even a few will be great)

Cool! When was that?

To say the truth, I would like to use this to develop new techniques for looking for new phenomena at particle colliders. I have only vague ideas for the moment, and the rest requires time that I don't have so far :( But I will try to slowly start moving along this path ^^

Dug up an old write for you. Before 2010 lol :) - https://steemit.com/technology/@kevinwong/i-played-a-part-in-the-formation-of-the-surveillance-state

What kind of data are you looking to process?

In a collisions at the LHC, we get final state products that consist of many particles. We then cluster them in some way (that contains some free parameters and methods) and study the output of this clustering. From this output, we can study several observables, properties, etc...

Now, in terms of searches for new phenomena, we have the signal (the new phenomenon) and the background (the Standard Model expectation). We want to know what to check (how to select our collision events) to maximise the signal and reduce the background.

I would like to design something that first is capable to chose the reconstruction method automatically in the aim of improvement a signal-to-noise ratio, and second capable to chose the observable to focus on for distinguishing the signal from the background.

Dunno whether it is clear enough (I tried to be concise instead).

Thanks for sharing the other post. This dates from before my steemit time ^^ What I want to do is very different from that. It is more for the beauty of science than for making anyone rich :)

Btw referencing your earlier reply -

To say the truth, I would like to use this to develop new techniques for looking for new phenomena at particle colliders.

So machine-learning will be applied to which part of this process? Pattern recognition for collider configurations, or the output (both "live" and archived data) ?

In a collisions at the LHC, we get final state products that consist of many particles. We then cluster them in some way (that contains some free parameters and methods) and study the output of this clustering. From this output, we can study several observables, properties, etc...

I think this will need some lecture of its own - I'll go do some research on it. Hopefully there's something decent online :)

Mmmh I will have a look. I have never heard about them (I am also a newbie in ML).

Just to self advertise my older post. You may want to start from there ^^

I would like to use ML to work out the output (could it be a simulated collision or a real one, but it is better to start with simulated stuff since data are not publicly released yet and only experimenters have access to them) and try to reconstruct what happened.

Bookmarked for weekend reading :). Btw a lil off-tangent, have you seen Numerai? It's a pretty interesting company, sometihng to do with machine learning and data encryption for worldwide collaboration.

ML to work on pattern-recognizing the output right? If that's the case then i pretty much understood what you're trying to say..

Exactly, with the additional point that we have no clue about which pattern is better from the start. Also, varying from one model to another, the best pattern may change.

This is IMO a perfect problem for designing a ML solution.

I think as a community we should rethink the blog here... we are only posting blogs, but there is only a small bit of direction (myself included).

If we want mass adoption, it will need to change and (sorry to say) become more socially oriented.

The question coming up will be if Yours.org will do this and take the market from Steemit?

Steemit is only one app on the steem blockchain. Other upcoming apps should benefit the ecosystem as a whole.. well thats what i think.

And have you read Steemit's development roadmap? The community and social features they're adding will be both social and functional at the same time. The platform's general utility will be growing in the next few months.

This!!
It's the tip of the iceberg, IMO.

Yes looking forward to them.

Enjoy your family bro. You can never get too much of that. Hopefully they can't get too much of you either! :)

It's been years! Certainly a good break. Lunar New Year is coming and it's a good reason to reconnect with some family and friends all around my hometown :)

Not sure about that atm, might go back to djing / music production more. Maybe I'll plan to be a little more mobile and try to hit capital cities around asia and get some djing gigs at the same time. But as it is, travelling is a little dififcult because I've a dog to take care of. But if anything, music should only remain as a fun thing to do!

once djing starts to become a job it gets boring ;)

Cheers

Yes.. it sure is. If I have a few million dollars, i'll build a blockchain-powered club / public space where djs or wannabes can just start spinning and share the profits of the drink sales lol

profit for drinks!

cheers

Do what you need to. We'll be here. :)

Thanks dude. Hold the fort haha!

You should absolutely write a book, Kevin. Maybe called "Blockchain-Hustle" haha I like that final tag you used. Cheers to an exciting 2017, I have no doubt there is much more in store...

That's interesting actually.. I want to write a Snow Crash equivalent of the stories that go around the blockchain hustle :)

That's a very big to do list!
Steem on.

Scattered as always lol. Not sure if I'm gonna go back to music production this year.. too many things, but so little time.

Break your list down a little bit more. What's the priority for you this year? What do you physically NEED to do to? Next, what is your main goal? Choose the things that will help you work towards it. The other things are then added to the wish list- or you give them to people who can develop them for you.

Yup will try to do just that - thanks for the suggestion! Sometimes I don't even know myself, so it's not that easy xD. Generally what I'm looking for is to build rep in the blockchain industry and of course, figuring out ways to have a good, sustainable enterprise online (which I do not really have atm)

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 19. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $22.89 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 19 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Hi, Kevin,

Checking in here to wish you well in your very ambitious project list!

"on sovereign enterprises to musings about works of open-interplanetary mass collaboration."

As an agorist, I'm very interested in "the future of work" as I am trying to pioneer various approaches in that space. If you'd point me towards anything you may have already written on the topic, I'd appreciate it. 😄😇😄

@creatr

Thanks, of course it's all pretty much up in the air. Curie is part implementation. But of course the implementation wasn't my idea, it was just a process that came out of a new kind of "job" and liberosist pretty much laid out the foundations, and we forged the organization along the way. It's still not in its final state..

Here are some of my writes that relates to the future of work -

  1. https://steemit.com/steemit/@kevinwong/i-drew-this-back-in-2013-2014
  2. https://steemit.com/futurology/@kevinwong/the-future-of-work-an-abstract
  3. https://steemit.com/steemit/@kevinwong/a-casual-analysis-for-steem-speculators
  4. https://steemit.com/futurology/@kevinwong/a-better-tomorrow-on-blockchains-individuality-and-civilization-part-1-2
  5. https://steemit.com/steemit/@kevinwong/past-present-and-future-a-personal-roadmap-56k-steem-power-1000-followers-90-blogposts-and-5-pounds-later

Thanks a lot, Kevin... I appreciate the reading list, and will check them out! ;)

Hope they aren't too convoluted. I'm hoping to write more readable stuff in the foreseeable future :)

OK, friend, I'm back... after reading the five articles you recommended. I like your thinking a lot.

First, a simple feedback, particularly on your most recent two articles in the list? (1. and 2.) Have you ever come across this website?:

http://eyewire.org

When I read your description(s) of subdividing tasks into mass collaboration, eyewire immediately came to mind. I think you'll like what they've done and are doing.

Apart from that, all I can say is "I'm on board" with pretty much all your ideas. I'm not quite sure how I may fit in, but I intend to keep my eyes and ears open.

I am very much a "generalist," a big fan of Bucky Fuller, but I also have an arsenal of skills that I continue to add to as time goes on.

Honestly, I think my greatest interest is in the hope of blockchain and distributed organizations and collaboration is the promise that it all seems to hold of increasingly freeing me, along with all other individuals who have become awake to the oppression of "conventional" governments, from the necessity of "doing business" under the Eye of Mordor and from all of the involuntary, violence based "enforcement" of such necessities...

Thanks for sharing your vision in this and other posts. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73