Getting Into The Flow: Clean Up & StreamlinesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

This is the first time that I've not posted anything in 48 hours and it felt like forever. I was taking a break away from everything for awhile. Spent some time with Final Fantasy XV, and it's quite sad to say that the franchise doesn't really grab me by the imagination anymore.

Or perhaps I was too distracted by a few first world problems that I'm experiencing at the moment.

The growing mess of my research, writings, music, bookmarks, and files in general.

Talk about information overload since 1999 - I'm definitely the poster boy, one that's still hoarding onto many precious files while at the same time naming everything randomly. YO.wav, YOYO.png, YOYOOO123.txt. Come on, Kev. I know it's a matter of self-discipline and coming up with a workable system. Keyword being workable. In that, I find simplicity to be best - anyone got a lean, low-maintenance method?

I'm up 15 pounds since mid-2016.

Been sitting too much Steeming away. I might want to start returning back to a more active on-the-move lifestyle at this age. #YOLO. So nice if telepathy aka thought transfer is possible with the computer. That way I don't have to sit down, flip open a 5-pound laptop, and look all serious at the screen while pretending to enjoy my hipster coffee. For now, going to start skipping rice and start bar-belling. Be on the move while talking to myself with a voice recorder - write the stuff out later.

A growing need for social-platform streamlining.

Steemit is the first-time I'm active within an online community. I don't really know what I've really done here on Steemit to get a good following (in fact, already more than my friends and subscribers on Facebook) other than being a lucky early adopter, but I intend to start building stuff more actively online. Here's what I'm thinking of my situation at the moment:-

  • I want to engage more with others, adding value that way too. But I find that my time is stretched between research, content creation, and curation. Even my music stuff has been on hold since discovering Steemit. It still remains as a magical, killer-app in my mind so I think I'll be dedicating more time around it, while inching my way towards having more of a presence in other relevant platforms as well.

  • Although I'm now able to develop for Ethereum, I find myself floating more towards STEEM's possibilities right now. There's a plan on stall for months now - a blockchain enrichment hub that I mentioned once or twice when Steemit just first started. Maybe I'll revisit the idea of a co-working / co-living hub with a friend. Could use a change of scenery getting involved in a start-up on an island!

  • I'm also less active in Curie now. It's becoming autonomous, in a way. So more time for everything else on this platform.

Decentralised urban farming has taken a more interesting spin

While working on my indoor farming kit project (which supposedly serves in part of a distributed research data collection project as well), I've discovered there's a more difficult and interesting problem to solve for distributed research modules for farming kits - validating / authenticating streams of data from hardware level (is that possible?). More info on that in another post.


It seems like the community is bursting with activities at the moment! Honestly I've not participated much for the past week or two on Steemit.com. Just too many messages and business-related emails - I'm almost reminded of a time in the past when I (stupidly) threw my phone away just to stay sane. Anyway, thanks for reading this blog entry!

Sort:  

I laughed at your filenames. I am guilty of similar. The worst being such gems like.

thenewone.txt
newerone.txt
verylatest.txt
Newnewnewone.txt
Newonefried.txt

Lol! I think everyone is guilty of this, at some point in life.

That's good to know. It's hilarious when you are actually looking for something.

It's true they say xkcd has got it all covered

Hahaha, of course. I forgot IMPORTANT!!

really i enjoyed reading your blog,
i hope you relaxed for some time, 3700 posts is outstanding, where do you find time for that, impressive.

Thanks @araki :)
I think 20 posts / comments a day is pretty doable.. and I dont sleep all that much anyway!

Ehh Dont worry about it too much, worries make you sick so as a wise man once said
'' Get some sleep its cheap you creep''

Lol it's true. I'm a worrier

Let's make a co-working and partyhostel together. We can have 24/7 hangouts. A camera room where people can always talk to the others far away. Lets make a brand. You in your place and me somewhere in europe.
A blog-o-tel where people can sleep for a few hours (price per hour 2 euro) :D

Haha in time, I'm really gonna revisit this thing again with a friend. I feel kinda sorry that I ditched the plan a little bit after getting into Steemit last year, but told him I need to to explore this thing first. Turned out to be a rabbit hole, wek wek.

I don't understand but party with you, wek wek! Wohooooo!

Decentralized farming is a necessity for the future of humankind. imo

Upvoted

@shayne

Yup it's most definitely, although the one we're working on wouldn't supplement everything, but just for urban home owners to start small easily. Places like Singapore is ripe for such a thing..

I threw my last cell phone out the car window @ 70 MPH for the same reason lol
Also my file system <,< needs work as well.

Mine is just gone, but that was 4-5 years ago. Never again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63732.43
ETH 3135.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83