You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Are Your Values?

in #blog7 years ago

Values. I've never thought about it before. I've always just assumed that trying to be a "good" person is good enough and whatever is needed to do so, then so be it.
But to try and figure out values apart from priorities; I've never thought about it.
In a previous reply I listed out my priorities, in order:

  1. Faith (not religion)
  2. Personal family (wife/children; don't have this yet)
  3. Job (make a living)
  4. Family (other); (immediate (parents/siblings) and extended (cousins, aunts, etc.))
  5. Friends (I can count my friends on 1 hand; but I trust my life with them)
  6. Girl I like and hope to mold a future with (hopefully priority 2 one day)
  7. Other people (because people are still more important that stuff)
  8. Board games (everyone needs a hobby and entertainment)
  9. Mountain biking (everyone something they enjoy doing physically)
    And many people ask me where is "me" in my priorities. Well? If you read the priorities, you'll see me in all of them.
    But those aren't values. And when I read my priorities, I don't immediately see them; and no one else ever does.

I looked at that this list and said to myself, "If I am in there, then my values are as well."
Well? I found the values. And they're not where I thought they might have been, but instead, right where I should have looked first: my faith.
My faith is important to me; anyone who knows me, knows this.
When I really think about it my values are as follows:

  1. Love
    -I have a hard time caring for people, but no one can say I don't love them
  2. Joy
    -Truth be told, I am never happy; but I enjoy a lot about life around me.
  3. Peace
    -I am never calm, but peaceful; everybody tells me so.
  4. Patience
    -I have no tolerance for anything; I don't put up with shit. But though I may disagree with you, or even debate why I think you're wrong, I will keep patience.
  5. Kindness
    -I am so not friendly, despite many people telling me so. But I am kind; I choose this.
  6. Goodness
    -I find this one hard to define because I do not believe people are innately good; I believe we are all bad capable of good. Being good is a choice; doing bad shit is easy; taking the higher road is done by choice.
  7. Gentleness
    -I might be able to break that wall; but you'd never know it when someone is hurt; there is always a shoulder here.
  8. Faithfulness
    -Don't even bother asking me to do something I say I won't do; or opposite to what I say I will. It's not going to happen. There are very few people who are honourable to their word; especially in this day where everyone else lies.
  9. Self-Control
    -Seriously; I see very few people with this. So may people just act off a whim, a dare, or irrational thought. You want people to like you be an ass; you want respect, be a man.

So yeah, my values were found in my faith. I've never looked there before; but those values, easily trickle down the line of priorities.

Great post. Thanks for making me think.

Sort:  

That is awesome! This is a great list. I am happy that I could help in any way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66507.45
ETH 3328.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69