What Are Your Values?

in #blog7 years ago

values.jpg

I get a lot of grief from friends and family about how I live my life. This is nothing new. It has happened for decades. I have always “marched to the beat of my own drum” and, for the most part, it has served me well.

I would like to think that I am a relatively intelligent person and I get along with pretty much everyone I meet. I have always said, “if you don’t like me, there is something wrong with you.”

But over the last week, I have been subject to even more grief than usual. And it all stems from my new travel plans.

I am heading out on an indefinite trip through Mexico, Central, and South America. It should be awesome and I am really looking forward to it. My family not so much.

I have been told that I am running away from my problems, that I am feeling sorry for myself, that I am too old to do this, and basically, that I will be killed by someone on the first day of my trip.

Ultimately, I know that they mean well. They are worried about me and they want me to be safe. But for me, staying in one place makes me less happy and less safe.

It all boils down to my values. My values are very different from theirs. Every person’s values are different. And that’s what makes the world so great. I have written down my values and I keep a copy in Evernote and also in a small notebook that I carry with me always.

I would now like to share my values with you (in order):

  1. Freedom

  2. Contribution

  3. Love

  4. Respect

  5. Honesty

  6. Simplicity

  7. Equality

You can see the notebook entry below.

IMAG0397.jpg

So, why have these values in the first place? Well, I am a big believer in personal development. I have read many books and taken lots of courses on the subject and one of the most valuable pieces of advice was to write down my values.

By having your values clarified you can then live the life you really want. There will be no doubt as to how you should act. You have it written down. It’s like having a blueprint for your life.

So let’s take a look at my number one value: freedom.

When I say “freedom” I am not talking about it the way so many politicians do. They say things like, “having more guns gives us freedom,” or “By taking away health care, people will have more freedom to get what they want.” To them, freedom is almost like a punchline to a sad joke.

I am talking about the freedom to live your life they way you see fit. The freedom to make a living doing what you love. Freedom to travel and live where you want. The freedom to say, “no.” The freedom to live without government intrusion.

And since freedom is my top value, I will do all I can to live by it. All my actions and decisions are geared to that one goal.

Will I make mistakes and miss out on some things because of this one value? Sure, but I feel like I will live a life that is more beneficial to me and to those around me. My other values are centered around contribution, love, respect, honesty, simplicity, and equality. I think those are values that will benefit everyone I come into contact with.

I would encourage you to write down your own values and determine what the top ones are. This will make most of your decisions very easy going forward. Whenever you are confronted with a decision you can measure it against your list of values and determine if it fits in with your life.

Living a values-centered life has helped me immensely and it can do the same for you.

Sort:  

Great minds think alike! ; )

Loading...

Thanks for sharing! I think it's important to know your values. They should be the foundation for how you live your life. It is never easy when your values, and therefore also your choices are not understood by family or other people in your life.
I hope that your family can accept your choice and see that it is what makes you happy.

Thanks so much for the comment. I think my family will come around.

As you said, they only want your best. Even if they never quite understand they will hopefully come around when they see that it makes you happy (assuming you're not killed on the first day of your trip!)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53949.09
ETH 2223.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31