I'm glad I can finally put my Corel Draw skills in practice. I spent my day creating some campaign fliers for a friend.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog5 years ago


For some couple of years back, I've developed interest in wanting to know graphics design. I worked with some unprofessional softwares then which were just basically for editing images. Well, I didn't feel bad because I didn't learn what I wanted but still I was happy because I could make an image look better than its original form.

As time went on went on, the urge to wanting to know more about graphics design grew stronger. I started exploring some applications used for editing and designing on my smartphone untill I came across Adobe Spak post which I found quite easy and interesting to me.

Below are some designs I created a year ago using Adobe Spak Post







The above images can also be found here. It has been previously used for an Oracle-D task.

I was feeling fulfilled because it seems like my dream was finally coming to pass. I didn't just stopped there. Then I thought within me, "if I could create awesome designs with my smartphone, why don't I step up to the professional way?" I then decided to check out some popular softwares for creating graphics design on the internet. I discovered Photoshop and Corel Draw were the most commonly used softwares.

I contacted a software engineer the following week to provide me the licensed version of theses softwares because I discovered they needed license to gain access to its full features. I got both softwares and installed it. I launched each softwares and they both launched perfectly fine. But at these point I definitely didn't know what to do because it was an entirely new IDE(Integrated Development Environment) to me. I have never worked with any of these software before, but I've heard them been mentioned by individuals serval time.

There is this common phrase that says "Na photoshop" which means "It's photoshop". It's a phrase commonly used to qualify any awesomely edited image or created graphics.

So back on me



I knew it was time for to learn something new. I considered learning from the internet but luckily enough for me the course Graphics design was been taught were I was undertaking my Internship training. So I spoke with the instructor taking the course to dedicate so minutes to put me through some basic things I should know concerning both software. Trust me he's a genius in graphics design 😉.

I would undergo about 30-40 minutes tutorial with him. I really didn't have much time to spend with him because I had to be in my Electronics class and likewise he also had to take his Graphics design class. But after about 7 meetings with him, I was already beginning to gain confidence in myself with what I've learnt so for from him. During the meetings with him, he put me through things such as; use of basic shape, design concepts, color combinations, color selection inverse, sizing and resolution, shortcuts, use of mockups, and many lot more I can't presently remember.

These things he taught me were both applicable to Photoshop and Corel draw. But I seem to pick more interest in the use of Corel draw. I was already creating basic designs at this point. I also practiced with some existing logos and design by trying to re-create them. I was eager to try out new things. Whenever I was faced with any challenge, I will always run to Google. Lol 😂

So on this good lovely day, I was chatting with a friend then she told me she was have a tough time creating some posters. She said she needed them for campaign. I was already eagerly willing to help her out. I knew so well she had no idea on how this things work, but I believe she was definitely trying it out with an application on her smartphone. So I asked like a gentle man which I am, "May I help you out?"

I was so happy when she said yes. I felt as if I have just got the first contract in my graphics design career. Boom!, I got working. I came up with this design first, but I stopped working on it. The text to add to it wasn't just coming at that point in time.

So I then moved on tho create some simple and unique 🙂 which was this.

Then thoughts of words to use in the text came to me then I completed the previous design.

After that I came up with another simple but unique design.

It was a pleasure for me creating these designs. I didn't take me up to 24 hours before completing all the three designs. Although the 24 hours wasn't at a goal. I had to rest my brain, think about some text, check out some previous designs, before I could finally come up with them all.

Below is a gif image show some few processes I passed through before achieving my full design.

Gif image for the first flyer

Gif image for the second flyer

Gif image for the third flyer

Hope you likes them. Well, my friend did love them. Thanks for taking your time to read till this point. Didn't expect my writing to be this long. Smile ☺. Drop me an interesting comment to get me aware that you did read to this point. You might be lucky to get some steem from me, or perhaps I could create some designs for you if you will permit me 😉

I will also be creating an image footer for my blog soon. Smiles ☺.. Peace ✌🏾!

...

THANKS FOR VISITING MY BLOG
BEST REGARDS
@k-banti

Sort:  

Congratulations @k-banti! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 700 replies. Your next target is to reach 800 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new SteemFest⁴ badge is ready
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hello @k-banti, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59740.56
ETH 3011.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79