How To Increase Views To Important Posts Over Time

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

Generate more traffic for posts important to your blog


up2.png


Not all posts are equal and some may contain important information that you want people to see over a longer period of time. On Steemit most of the traffic to a post occurs at the beginning and slows down to usually stop after the 7 days curation period.

Promotion

So what if you have a post that you want people to keep going to way after the 7 day curation period?

I host daily photography contests and I have a post that states all the rules and contains all the background information needed to participate in these contests. At the bottom of every post I make I have a banner which links to this post. Which looks like:


banner_contests.jpg


Long term

What this does it that for every post I make, Steemians that have not seen this article before and are interested now know where to go to read about these contests. This does mean that you have to put in a lot of thought beforehand into the post since you will not be able to change anything after 7 days. The longevity of your post depends on how well it is written.

The post started out with about 100 views during the first day but has since slowly gotten more views over time, and still gets views on a daily basis. Currently standing at 727 views.

Screenshot 2017-10-21 03.20.01.png

So basically if you have a post that is important to you that you want as many Steemians to see link to this post underneath every post of yours. This can also be used for your introduction for example. Keep the links short and simple so people know what to expect when they click on it.

Short term

This also works on the short time, if you have a post that is still available for curation you can link to this in your new post. This will take more work as you have to change your links every time a post expires.

Moderation

Everything works best in moderation. Do not start spamming all your comments with links to all your articles or have the promotion part of your post be way longer than the actual content you are discussing. Keep it clean and simple, as this works the best.


I hope this helps you on your adventures here on Steemit

Warm hug, @juliank

Sort:  

Thanks @juliank for this great advice 😄😄

Thanks @juliank for the great advise, and now I will go and have a look at your photography competitions.

You are welcome, haha I caught you with my banner ;p

@juliank great advise. I think this post will help new users of steemit to learn the importance of linking past posts that are important. Upvoted. @gold84

Thanks, glad you agree with me. Just sharing what is working for me

@juliank you are welcome. Thanks to you, amd for your support here on steemit. @gold84

Thank you for these tips. I wish you could also teach us how to take pictures excellently like you. You always do a great job man! Reblogged this.

Thanks ;) I am actually working on it behind the screens!

I cannot sleep from now on to think of it and excited to be learned from you.

Haha no go to bed! Good sleep is rule #1 to being creative. It will take me about 1-2 more weeks

The rule #1, that is my problem 'coz I don't have it. So I'm gonna prepare an acupuncture therapy for a sleeping disorder for two weeks.

Thanks juliank for such fun contests!!

Informasi yang sangat berguna, thanks @juliank

Up vote aku dan follow ya kawan, biar rame.

I am sorry but I am not so good in languages, I speak Dutch and English though!

Thanks for your information mr @juliank, its nice

That is great strategy linking the important posts at the end of your new one. This works well for you since you are hosting the daily contests and as it gets more popular, more views are coming.

I should start thinking about an anchor post :-)

I enjoyed reading your post. There is a lot of good stuff.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60450.32
ETH 2604.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60