Blog: Why am I still staying on steemit.com?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

Why am I still staying on steemit.com?


Well, that’s a good question. I have 3 reasons why I’m still active in steemit after a month of posting, commenting and curating.

steemitfamilyph.jpg


Friends
I think without my real life friends joining the site after I told them to, I would have not lasted a month on this site. It’s the fact that starting out on any site or adventure isn’t always fun at all. But with my friends actively posting, commenting, and curating along with me, I could safely say that that is the number 1 reason why I’m still staying. It gives a real life connection. It gives us something to talk about outside of steemit. Imagine Facebook or Instagram without any real life friends on the site with you. It would be boring and most likely you would not be as active as you could be.
20171102_085907.jpg


Interaction and Contest
What’s with a site without interaction and contest. Right? Well, the contest gives a challenge to the whole thing about posting daily. It also gives us ideas of what to post. A sense of direction per se. The more I post, the more I see myself in the photography and the travel hashtags. I did a table form of the entire daily contest that I could find and shared it with my friends’ @steemitfamilyph. My interaction with other users in the site has been great because I am slowly finding my niche on the site. With my niche, I could think of comments and what to say easily without spending much time. Lastly, it’s pleasant when your work is recognized in a contest and it also helps in getting exposure. I always encourage my friends to join contests and to comment.
daily contest.png
Here is a list of the daily contest that I found so far. I made this just for my friends @steemitfamilyph.
With the most famous daily photography contest from @juliank. Other contest that we look forward to daily are the contest from @czechglobalhosts' #wonders of the world, @kalemandra's #colorchallenge, @sol25's #mydailypost.

Other weekly contest that I told my friends to join are @timsaid's #mypictureday, @jamtaylor's #steemitphotochallenge, @brumest's #monomad, @thatindianlady's #selfiechallenge, and @daveks' #bwphotochallenge.

Some of my friends found art and poem contest to join also.


Upvotes and Awards
Let us just tackle the truth and not dilly-dally. Majority of my friends joined because of the upvotes and the potential of getting awards along with it (my point of view and from what I observed with all the friends that I invited to join). I think that is the first reason why people join and it is the easiest way to get people in this site. However, it totally depends on the individual if they think it is worth it to spend time here due to the rewards. Most of my friends want fast reward and if they do not see the result right away, they tend to stop. I tell them, there is no such thing as fast reward and lots of them in a short period. As any other things in life, you need to work for it, give time and effort. If there were such thing as fast reward, everyone would be millionaires now. Again, all things that you want in life, you have to work for it.
Our biggest supporter so far from our group is @surpassinggoogle. Specially to newcomers for the site. They start with @surpassinggoogle's #untalented "Who am I?" contest. Where everyone wins. Big thank you to him and #steemgig family.


What is/are the reason(s) why you keep on coming back to steemit.com?


Sort:  

Thank you, @jon24jon24 for telling us about steemit. Like you mentioned, I joined because of the rewards that I can get but then I kind of enjoyed posting here that's why I stayed. I discovered a lot of people who make amazing contents, like art or photography, and followed them. Now, I look forward to their posts everyday. The contests that are mentioned above made steemit more interesting to me. It made me want to go out more often, to travel and have adventures, take more pictures which I enjoy very much, and to express myself.
Thank you @surpassinggoogle for the support and for showing everyone that we can be ourselves and still be winners. #untalented

I think steemit still young and has a great future. Building your own community nowadays, it can be really profitable soon or later.

Good post man, have a great day :)

Yes, I see this site as a young FB or IG or even Youtube. I watched a video earlier about youtubers looking back at their account 7 - 10 years ago. When youtube was just a video sharing platform and the community around it was great.

What a thoughtful post. The reasons I am still on it after four months is that I find it totally interesting and absorbing. I spend just a few hours every day and enjoy the replies I receive and curating and encouraging others. The rewards do come, but slowly and you feel good as you are being rewarded for your work. I am going to write a post sometime soon about the best ways to work on Steemit, because without some work and knowledge as to how best to work, the rewards come more slowly. It's a great community and you should make sure your friends know that, you're already part of it.

Thanks for sharing the different constest we can join. I will be following you. I am currently recharging my SP right now will vote later but i have resteemed your post.

Thank you so much. Anything to help out a fellow steemian. :)

Yes brother your right, we all steemians will support each other 😅😀

Yes! Idtoy tay lang

Wun hahaha

is that an ilokano? :) my grandmother is from La Union so I can understand a BIT of Ilokano. :)

We will soon reap a harvest if we don't give up...keep posting kabayan, I'm following you.

Thank you kabayan. Soon we will do.

Good post @jon24jon24 ... I joined because I made a funny Donald Trump guitar video on my youtube channel and then all my ad revenue suddenly stopped. Steemit is the only community of content creators that pay each other and I am all about fairness. So now I post my musical content here where people can enjoy it. That's it, and it's fun, and people are nice!

Yes, hopefully other famous youtubers see this platform that this is more superior when it comes to rewarding the content creators.

I agree with you 100% because this is people rewarding people and that's powerful stuff

And you don't need to get thousands of upvotes and comments to get a reward. Everyone can earn. Not just the content creators but also the curators.

That's the beauty of this platform and this is the beta stage. Wait until the whole world catches on like Facebook. The rewards could be tremendous

Do you know when the beta stage ends?

Not sure but that's a great question. The developers are working on other tools and apps so will have to wait I guess
Check out bluelightbandit he made a post where he bought this beautiful silver coin that has the steemit logo and now I want one too

THank you so much @jon24jon24 for sharing the info about steemit. In steemit we are not only earning
rewards but we can share our art or photography. I enjoyed a lot when posting my photos like my travel etc. and also i’m looking forward for others posts.
Good post jon. Thank you so much for telling us about steemit. I enjoyed a lot.

Thank you also to @surpassinggoogle for the support. God bless. #untalented

Yes, anything for my friends and its more enjoyable if you have friends with you on this site. Thank you also for spreading it to your friends. Lets keep on telling other people to join. Steem on!

\

Hi @jon24jon24, we visit you with our tinnie winnie upvote and give your our "seal of awesomeness" as you have been determined by a human @jon24jon24, to be gifted.

Welcome to the #untalented family, where everyone is seen as possessing of rare gem

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @jon24jon24 to be original material and upvoted(2%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68034.95
ETH 3846.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66