Wistman's Wood. The most haunted place on Dartmoor

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

Last weekend (8 days ago) I planned to get out for a walk somewhere with the family but for various reasons (mainly laziness) it didn't happen, so this weekend I was determined to go for a walk somewhere. But where?

After a quick internet search I found details of Wistmans Wood and decided to head out to Dartmoor to check it out.

The Wikipedia article doesn't really do the place justice to be honest so if you want a bit more info on the ancient dwarf oak woodland and it's druidic links, check out this article.

It took about 30 mins to drive from my house to the carpark just past Princetown on Dartmoor where the trail to Wistmans Wood starts and as soon as I opened the car door I remembered how much colder Dartmoor could feel compared to the city. I was prepared of course and brought a thick jumper and a hat but my girlfriend forgot to bring her hat so I ended up giving her mine and getting a slight headache as a result, but it was the gentlemanly thing to do.

We followed the trail for about 10 mins before we came to open moorland. The views on Dartmoor are stunning and I always feel better having spent time there. Here is a picture of the family heading towards the wood. The woodland itself isn't actually that big and I have drawn a red outline around it on the picture below.

Here's a picture of my son at the entrance to the wood.

Once you enter the wood it is like you are in a different world. The branches hang low and there are granite boulders everywhere making the terrain difficult to navigate. Here's a picture looking into the woods. It reminds me of a scene from Edward Scissorhands or something.

The woods are filled with various mosses and lichens as you can see from the pictures below and they add to the mystery of the wood (particularly the hanging moss that looks like spider webs)

When we arrived at the wood we could see a large black cloud approaching so didn't stick around long enough to see the large Druids stone that is to be found deeper in the woods but we will be going back again soon to check it out.

Finally, here's a shot taken as we headed back towards the car from the woods. I'm not known for my directional abilities but even I couldn't go wrong on the way back. Just follow the river.

Thanks for reading.

Edited - I forgot to add a photo of a friendly Robin we found in the woods. He didn't seem to be at all phased by us.

Sort:  

waoww nice viewing nature.
I can walk here
Thank you for share

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jimbobbill from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Absolutely breathtaking Jim! I would definitely tag this as a #walkwithme!! <3 <3 <3 <3 That moss on that one tree...I could see a fluffy little face!! <3 <3 Just charming. <3 <3 <3 <3

Thanks Lynds. I didn't think about using that tag but now you mention it I should have, particularly asyou are now on walk number 49. Next walk will be using the #walkwithme tag for defo. Thanks for reading/commenting.

No problem! I would love to add this to my next post :) You can edit a tag, or I can try to remember to come here and grab the link <3 <3 <3

I've edited the tags but doesn't look like you can change the primary tag (still #blog) but #walkwithme is there now.

Perfect, yeah it doesn't have to be #1, it's there now with all the other walks, thanks Jim! YAY!!!!!!!! xoxoxooxox

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62153.21
ETH 2411.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64