Fishing shallow shores for a monster rockfish releasing birthing perch catch and cook

in #blog6 years ago

Such a random day! I came out to a secluded stretch of coast where I have fished before from land and canoe. I found a boulder to climb casting from about ten feet up. I was able to locate striped surf perch that were giving live birth and about to birth. Releasing the perch so they could produce more, I decided to use a larger piece of cut bait to deflect the perch. With out much hope of catching a rockfish, I cast out just past the kelp bed. In no time at all my pole was slammed! I fought with it for a little and worked the fish back to a landing point. I catch a large 18" grass rockfish! while inspecting the stomach I get another good bit but can't get the fish past the kelp bed, and it come off the line. A interesting and fun day of fishing. I make my way home to cook up a Cajun style Rockfish fillet, twice baked potato with mixed veggies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60832.40
ETH 2912.20
BNB 525.30
SBD 2.31