Broken

in #blog6 years ago

Wrapping paper fell at Annie's feet as she stared at the bowl in her hand.

Gold gleamed in the grout where the shards were joined. Whole again, but no longer the same. Better. Like she would be.

Phil was a dick, no denying that. But not worth staying broken over.

 


By Haragayato - Own work, CC BY-SA 4.0

 

These fifty word stories are addictive. After the one I wrote last week, and through which I discovered a bit more about Annie, a character in the novella I'm currently working on, this week's prompt wass very tempting. Again.

Like the last time, I began with an image. This time, the image of a kintsugi piece was the first thing I saw when I closed my eyes.

Kintsugi (Japanese for 'golden joinery') or Kintsukuroi (golden repair) is the Japanese art of repairing broken pottery with a special lacquer that is either dusted or mixed with powdered gold, silver or platinum.

The artist views breakage and repair as something to celebrate. A part of the history of the piece. Artists often go so far as to break pieces, just so they can repair them with golden seams.

The philosophy behind kintsugi is similar to the Japanese philosophy of Wabi-sabi. Embracing the flawed or the imperfect.

In Japan, marks of wear and use are valued esthetically. Cracks and scars are an unavoidable part of life, both for objects and people.

When our heart is scarred, should we put it away and let no one near it? I believe every single scar is a sign that you allowed someone to come close enough to inflict it. There is always risk involved in doing so, and your willingness to take that risk, makes you that much more beautiful.

The same goes for cups and bowls, I suppose. When you love them well, and use them a lot, occasional chips and cracks are unavoidable. Rather than throwing them out, an artform like kintsugi gives these items a second lease on life. A chance to serve us for a while longer.

Another philosophy you could correlate it with is Mushin. No mind. It values concepts like non-attachment, acceptance of change, and fate. They're a part of life.

If you ask me, the Japanese are right about this. And those kintsugi pieces sure do look gorgeous.

I encourage you to look up some photos of more pieces. They're very hard to find with a CC license, so I only included this one image. But there are some amazing pieces out there.

Well, I'm adding learning the art of kintsugi to my bucket list. I'll probably drive D crazy by breaking every piece of pottery we own, so I can put them back together with some of those gold or silver seams.

 

Hugs

Tiny


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.jasminearch.com/index.php/2018/07/12/broken/

Sort:  

Wonderful story, @jasminearch! And I love the backstory. (I hereby encourage all 50-worders to share the inspiration behind their stories!)

Thank you, @jayna. I had a lot of fun writing this one.

Hi @jasminearch, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Join us on Thursdays for Pimp Your Post Thursday at 11am EDT or 7PM EDT in the Steemit Ramble Discord or:

If you’d like to nominate someone’s post just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord. If I use the post, you earn a portion of the rewards.

Pimp Your Post Thursday is a live curation show where you get to know others and they you. You can promote your post or someone you think needs more notice.

Wow. Thank you @shadowspub. As always, it's an honour to find my work in your post!

Such a lovely parallel you've delivered here, and now I really want a piece of kintsugi. I have to fight the urge to throw one of my favorite pottery mugs to the floor now every time I make a coffee at home.

Go for it and take pics for me. ;-)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60073.81
ETH 2420.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45