Book Review: Debris by Jo Anderton

in #blog6 years ago

Since almost burning myself out by trying to make the most of every free minute by writing, I decided to supplement my brain’s diet with a steady supply of reading material.

It’s paid off, to say the least. I'm finally starting to feel like me again. The me I become when I get to use my writing as an outlet, rather than a thing that adds to my stress levels.

I try to alternate between books and articles on the craft of writing and novels and short stories.

This time, it was a novel. Debris by Jo Anderton.

At page one, the book swept me along in pictures swirling with light.

I met a heroine who won't be pushed around. Who fights back no matter the odds. When she fell, I fell with her. As it should be with a great book.

Anderton’s worldbuilding is on point. I kid you not.

In Varsnia, you can’t tell where magic ends and technology begins. But society depends heavily on it.

As our own society does, she said while typing up this review on her smartphone.

But what happens when technology fails you?

You see, that’s another characteristic of a great book. They hold a mirror up to us and say, “Look. This is you. Or it could be if you’re not careful.”

Did I love this book? Yes. I blew through it in as close to one sitting as I can manage, between the demands and obligations that come with a boyfriend, four dogs, two horses, a full time job and my own writing.

Will I buy the second one in the series? Hell yes.

Is it perfect?

Hmmm. Is anything ever perfect? Of course not. And I wouldn’t expect it of anything on this earth.

That said, I have to admit that there were a few too many typos and flaws in there for my taste. Without that, this truly would have been a great novel.

However, a misplaced word can really pull me out of a story. It happened to me a few

times while reading Debris.

Yes. I’m picky that way. But I’m so glad the story managed to reel me back in each time. I would have been sad to have missed it.

Flawed and all, it was more than worth my time. And for the record, time is a precious commodity to me so that’s saying a lot.

If you happen to read it, I’d love to hear your thoughts as well.

Hugs

Jasmine


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.jasminearch.com/index.php/2018/09/21/book-review-debris-by-jo-anderton/
If you would like to read some of my other work, feel free to have a look around on my off-Steem blog page by clicking the banner. My library there contains all of the pieces I’ve written since starting my blockchain adventure.






As a writer, finding the right community–the right tribe–makes all the difference.
For me, that’s the INKubator. I’m one of the admins there, and I have to say I’ve never been more proud of something I helped build, than I am of the INKubator.
We help each other improve, lovingly drown each other’s drafts in red ink, and help each other brainstorm.
But we’re more than a writing club. We’re a family. We root for each other as we submit pieces for various publication venues.
We cheer and join in victory dances when a piece is accepted.
We support each other through the disappointment of the inevitable rejections.
We hang out, playing as hard as we work, and from the madness of our conversations, more stories are born.
As a community, we span the globe, with members from Asia, Australia, Europe and the US, so chances are there will be someone there if you should decide to drop in.
If we’re quiet, that’s because we’re writing.
If you love writing, we’d love to meet you! Click on the banner below to pay us a visit.





Steemitramble




Steemitengine
The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

I love it when you can read a book in just a few sittings. High quality books like that are hard to find! I read books almost exclusively through Audible these days, as I can read while walking, doing dishes, going to and from work, running errands. I feel thrilled to read two books a month. Most of the books I read are well over 10 hours each in that format.

This book sounds really good. Too bad they didn't have an editor fix the typos!

Now that I'm into book 2, I'd say don't get it. The issues ar even worse.

I upvoted your post.

Keep steeming for a better tomorrow.
@Acknowledgement - God Bless

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62915.59
ETH 2542.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63