The Road to Minas Tirith - Hildebrandt brothers Tolkien calendar, my stories about illustrators:)

in #blog7 years ago

So, now we're almost in the middle of story about  Hildebrandt brothers and their Tolkien calendar, so let's go on.

The next illustration is "The Road to Minas Tirith".

-"Tolkien describes the Minas Tirith as a fortress that is carved into the rock. I chose the view from afar, which would include the city itself and the landscape"

Greg Hildebrandt Junior describer the process of creating photo references in his diary. He says there that for Shadowfax a toy hourse was used. His father decided to take pictures in the supine position to get the correct foreshortening.

To every illustration a full format pencil sketch was created. Not that it was nessesary for the artists, but it was the only way to get customer approval, so every work was actually done twice:

Thank you for watching:)

Love, Inber

Sort:  

It was strange for me to see a familiar name on Steemit as it seems like such a small platform. When I talk to people about Steem, they have usually never heard of it. When I saw the name "Hildebrandt", I thought "I know that name". I actually know Greg Hildebrant (junior and senior) and recently saw them on Easter. The work by the Hildebrandt Brothers is awesome. Anyways, seeing something about someone that I know personally on Steem just shows how fast the platform is growing, and what a small world it is.

WOW!!!! That's so awesome! I whish I could meet them one day:) For an autograph:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57824.15
ETH 2965.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70