STAR WARS old movies concept art artbook review - character concerts

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

Introduction

This is the third post in the series, you can find the first one here, and the second one here. Until those posts I made all the Star Wars reviews about the SWtoR MMOGPG, but in this one we will look through the old concept art for the movies. It's a completely different type of concepts. First of all - most of them are made with traditional art supplies, not digital. How cool is that? Let's see:)  

Character concept art

So, let's start here with this clone boy, by Iain McCaig. That's the concept art piece for the "Attack of clones", made with pen, ink and colored pencils on paper. Awesome contrast, and incredible deep colors. Old concepts have a huge difference with new ones, they're much more "straight",  but they also had this awesome sketchy style, in which you catch the whole picture as a fulfilled artwork, but if you pay attention on details you see, that they're still sketchy. No less awesome from that:)

Pencil and markers again, Queens headdress concept. Not exactly what we saw in the movie, but really neat:)

Most of the concepts I show today are by Iain McCaig and it seems to me like I'm falling in love with his creations, I definitely have what to learn from him:) This piece was created with pencil and marker on paper. I always pay attention on these "splices" in marker drawings, that usually look inaccurately, but in these concepts they look like they're meant to be here, right?:)

Still concept for "Attack of clones", an alien inhabitant by Glen McIntosh. The mediums used here are prismacolor markers and colored pencils on graphite paper. By the way I never had such kind of markers and pencils, preferring copics and Faber Castel, but I heard they're really good. It's just I can't buy them in my country. What about you, my fellow artists? Have you ever tried them?

This one is by Iain McCaig, pencil and marker on paper. I would make a suggestion that some kind of liner or ink also was used, for the sketchy base. I really admire such kinds of drawings, probably should also be less accurate in mine:)

Hope you enjoyed this review, see you in the next one!:)

Thank you for watching:)

Love, Inber

Sort:  

Everything used to have much more character in the past, even Jar Jar.

Wow, that was fast:)

I personally do not like Star Wars so much, but I love art, and this is great! :)

Well, I don't sleep hugging plush Yoda... But love the series. And the art especially. In fact when I write games art reviews they're about art for me at first place.
Ok, ok, I have plush Vaider, ha-ha:)

@actualpotato would enjoy this post! (as did I)

Hope so:) You pinged - probably he'll see it:)
Thank you:)

Evoked memories! Thanks!

You're most welcome:)

I wonder where the got the idea for Gungans? That last one looks vaguely similar...

The last one really is a concept for Jar Jar Binks, acrylic paints:) Usually in search of such ideas artists crossover a number of different kinds. May be here lizards, fishes and something else too part:)

I love you post and share :)

Happy to hear it, thank you:)

Nicely done! I like your past work too! Maybe you could draw one of Han stuck in carbonite! He hates when I bring that up!

Great idea! Would be happy to see it:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61043.90
ETH 3378.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46