STAR WARS old movies concept art artbook review - awesomness in simplicity:)

in #blog7 years ago

Introduction:

Untill this post I made all the Star Wars reviews about the SWtoR MMOGPG, but in this one we will look through the old concept art for the movies. 

It's a completely different type of concepts. First of all - they're made with traditional art supplies, not digital. How cool is that? Let's see:)

In the Galaxy far away...

  • Imperial snowtroopers rest against the gigantic "foot" of an AT-AT 
  • Concept art bot the "Empire strikes back
  • Pen, ink and marker on paper

Looks different from the concepts we see nowadays, true?:) I could easily imagine it as digital art, but - it's traditional. The artist used diluted ink and a pen for line, markers for shading. It's a wonderful piece, really wonderful

Golden C3PO?:) This one is acrilic and gouache. Can you imagine that? My own eyes already used to perceive concept as "digitai only". And all of a sudden a meet a traditional art droids! I was looking at this painting for hours, may be. Well, may be not that much, but for a long time definitely. C3PO looks so simple, even not that detailed as he will be in the movie:)

Concept art for "A new hope" by Ralph McQuarrie. Mos Eisley cantina standoff. This one is also acrilic with gouache. May be I'd used less red, but it's me.

All the well-known heroes are already here!  Chewey will later change his fur color, but in general -  they're so recognizable! 

Armed stormtroopers on the floating prison planet Alderaan, the same artist, same mediums. Seems like at first they had lightsabers! May be some kind of specific ones, with no crystals. Or at least I want to belive in that:)

No review without Lodr Vaider! This one is a phragment of a big concept for the "New Hope", Darth Vaired confrunts Deak Starkiller (no idea who's that, by the way). Still the same artist and the same mediums. May be I'm wrong in my hate to acrilic and gouache paints?:)

Luck is about to meet someone:) One of my favotite episodes in the movie, by the way. Old master Yoda is so damn awesome! And how cute he was asking for the lantern...

That's another way to go, right? Another appearance that is:) I would hardly recognize Yoda if I wasn't sure that I'm holding Star Wars artbook in my hands:)

See you in the next review!

Thank you for watching:)

Love, Inber

Sort:  

This is a milestone to have! Those artists had good hands...

It's an awesome artbook:) I was so happy to finally have it:)

It wasn't easy to find i could guess

It's a pretty fresh one, by the way. Awiable on amazon. I bought it a few months ago, I think some of them are still there:)

Ok! I thought it was an old one! Good to know

I love the post! Just FYI, Deak Starkiller was the original main character of Star Wars. He had a brother named Luke Starkiller. Also Deek had an awesome yellow lightsaber.

Thanks for the tip:)

3CPO is looking fiiiine

;)

Hey @inber .... so i showed your lovely drawings to my 5yr old son. And asked him to draw Hans Solo . This is what he came up with.



I just had to post it up for you to see ... cheers . @bitrocker2020

Oh WOW:) Young talent;)
These drawings are not mine, please read the title:) They are concepts for the old movies:)

Wow, these are so awesome. Yoda looks amazing

Agree with you:)

I love this post! I will digg into my Star wars comics collection for my next 'graphic novels' post.

Thank you! Waiting for your post!:)

Yoda is still recognizable enough, though. I love Star Wars. Not sure about the new sequel movies (7,8,9), the whole plot seems forced in... Don't get me wrong, new Star Wars movies are always cool, but maybe they should have set it in a different era, well departed from the Luke Skywalker era, and make a new story.

I'm also not sure about the sequel... And I also think it must have been done differently:(

NicE PIECE OF ART ANON UPVOTING!

Thanks:)

This is super sick thanks for this! I might make some original concept based fan art because i love me Star wars

Thank you so much for watching:)

very nice! thaks for sharing this

Thank you, glad you liked it:) Next week will be the next review in the series:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60880.32
ETH 3371.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52