Magic in the books - evening thoughts writing

in #blog7 years ago

As a kid I was really canny. Well, I still am, but as a kid I also tend to suffer from it. I had no interest to take part in any class activities, and my relationships with classmates were really hard. I was one of these shy girls who suffered from the ridicules all the time, and therefore had neither will, nor pleasure from going to school.

Image credit

But I had another type of friends. Now, as an adult I also love communicating with them much more then with people. I had a dog, shepherd named Judi, and long walks with her were just as important for me as at the moment is that time that I spend with Astro. But some more friends also stayed with me from childhood - books.

I remember when my granny first insisted that I have to learn how to read I resisted. But not for long, really quickly I understood that it's a great possibility to make my alone time awesome, so I learned how to read really quickly and never stopped reading afterwards.

My favorite always were fantasy books, and historical novels. I had some conflicts at school and in my family because I had no love to russian and unkainian literature. Well, guess what - I read it, but I still don't like it. At the moment I prefer not to read russian or ukrainian classic at all. Why? Well... Correct me if I'm wrong, but I'm not. These two literature examples are 90% about suffer. Someone will suffer in any case: it's either main hero, o author, or the reader. I understand that literature reflects history, but come on, I prefer the "escape"  Tolkien talked about.

By the way a few words about Tolkien. Of course I can't skip it when talking about reading. He was my favorite when I was a kid, and he still is my favorite when I'm an adult. "The Lord of the Rings" is my personal bible. When I learned how to read I had two first books, and one of them was "the Hobbit" (second was Bambi). 

When I was a kid my parents insisted that I should go to bed early. Well, I never did. I told that I did, but I had a flashlight I used to read under the blanket, sometimes till morning. Being lost in the books world I was escaping from the terrible reality of my school days, where I was bulled by both: classmates and teachers. By the way may be one day I should write a separate post about it and share my experience, but may be it only would have sense if there were more teens here who experience the same trouble at the moment. 

Now as an adult I feel the same magic in books that I felt when I was a kid, the only trouble is - it becomes more and more complicated for me to find a book that I will actually like. Not that I have super high standards, no, but I already have some kind of formed world I want to appear in while reading, and well, yes, I need at least medium writing quality. 

But these friends are still with me:)

I wish you all the best and will be happy if you'll support me with vote:)

Love, Inber

Sort:  

I love putting on original lord of the rings audiobook read by Tolkien himself, smoke a joint and sit back enjoying every possible moment.

Thanks for sharing your experience.
Peace, love, gratitude.

I have troubles listening to audio-books, my inner voice gets angry when someone tries to read to me except of him lol:)

Hehe, that's what the joint is for.
I'm sometimes writing down my own thoughts and realizations when listening to audio books, very often I happen to notice mindblowing sinchronisities and beautiful harmony between what I'm writing and what is being played in the background.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60450.32
ETH 2604.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60