Hildebrandt brothers Tolkien calendar - chapter two, my stories about illustrators:) Tom Bombadil

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

 I already wrote a series of posts about my favorite artists, and now I want to talk a bit about favorite llustrators.

Today I continue telling you a story about Hildebrandt brothers and their illustrations based on Tolkien "The Lord of the Rings".  Chapter one lives here.

So, february in the calenda has Tom Bombadil drawing. As I already said in the first chapter the artists, Tom and Greg Hildebrandt, used a lot of references to create drawings and were puting realy lots of effort to create them themselves references, I mean).

So, Greg's son remembers, that once he was sitting on a tree in the family garden, and suddenly he heared strange sounds. He looked down and saw a man in a bath robe, who was dancing between the trees. So, it was a process of seeking the right pose for Tom Bombadil.

Interesting fact: Hildebrandt brothers created their paintings on pieces of mesonite, not on canvas. They both thought that it's better to work on a hard surface instead of supple canvas.

And here's the photo of Gerry Nikols, who later became Tom Bombadil on the drawing:

One more interesting fact. Later the brothers will create a poster for the Star Wars, and this bathrobe is the same bathrobe that will be taken as a reference material for Luke Skywalker drawing:)

And the sketchdrawing that was transfered to mesonite:)

I said it for million times and I will say it again: it's so awesome to have a possibility to see the sketches:) It's one of the reasons I love artbooks so much. Sometimes viewing the process is even more interesting then the final result.

Thank you for watching:)

Love, Inber

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65673.10
ETH 2625.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66