Gandalf returnes - Hildebrandt brothers Tolkien second calendar, my stories about illustrators:)

in #blog7 years ago

I made a pause in this post series, and now I want to resume it. After all there are not much illustrations left to talk about. And some interesting pieces are still to watch. So, a quick reminder - here we go throught Second Tolkien calendar created by two artists, Greg and Tim Hildebrandt, two brothers. All the illustration additional materials are taken from the Gred Hildebrandt Junior book "Years with Tolkien"... And my thoughts and comments, cause sharing Tolkien-related art is one of the things I do here:)

So, the next illustration in the calendar is "Gandalf returnes":

Here we have a nearly perfect composition. We (you and me:) are casual observers, we hide behind the trees, and accidently see the happening miracle. Gandalf appears in the rays of light, and we witness the effect he exerts on Legolas, Gimli and Aragorn (who still have mustage and looks more like D'Artagnan from the "Three musketeer". OMG.) By the way here Gimli lost his hood and how looks a bit strange too.

Why I called the composition"nearly" perfect? Cause the eye-leading lines from Gandalf are broken with the lines of heroes weapon. But may be it's an idea in it: Gandalf resists the atack, while friends had not yet recognized him.

By the way the other version of composition also deserves attention. Here is the sketch made by Greg Hildebrandt:

By theway it's also an interestion solution. Here we (you and me:) would be a part of fellowship that meets Gandalf in the forest. So it's all about point of view. Whiсh one do you like better?

And as always I affix a reference sheet. You noticed?:) It's still the same man, the friend of the family poses for Gandalf, like on all the other illustrations from the both calendars that include this character:

Thank you for watching:)

Love, Inber

Sort:  

I used to have a book all about their work. I loved their Dragon Riders of Pern paintings as I was a huge fan of the books. Unfortunately I have long since lost the book :-(


Source

O my God the dragon is gorgeous!
I have an illustrated "Alice" which I have lost long ago... I still miss it:(

Isn't it funny in this age of digital books that we still miss actually holding them, flipping between the pages. It's just not the same, is it.

Another dragon for you


Source

I'll tell yiu mose, I still buy illustrated books:) It's really a completely different thing:)
I love dragons so much:) May be I have to draw them more often myself:)

Same here, I think that's why I have kept iguanas and more recently this beautiful little lady

Awwww!:) I had snakes for a few years. And whished to have iguana, but my husband feels a bit stressed about them, ha-ha:)

Great Art. I love these tolkien pictures. i've got some Hildebrandt collector cards.

And what's that?:) I'm not sure we have something like this in Ukraine

We don't have it here eiher. It's more a US thing and i think they are all from US. I think first they had Sportscards like Basebalcards with the actual Players and Teams. And then there are Cards from Comics with the Characters and also Some Cards from Artists. I have a Berni Wrightson Set that is pretty cool. Usually there is some Picture in the front and some information on the backside.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64542.61
ETH 3460.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51