BEFORE YOU SEND YOUR CV AFTER NYSC

in #blog7 years ago

WhatsApp Image 2017-11-02 at 5.24.26 PM.jpeg

Congratulations to everyone that just completed the mandatory NYSC.
To some, it was an avenue to explore and they did, to others, it was an opportunity to learn new skills, network with people that could help them grow etc, and to many it was a waste of time.
Whatever it meant to you, the truth is: this part of your life is gone forever!
You can no longer use your khaki to enter offices as you like, your ID card will no longer open doors for you neither will it cover for you and ultimately, no more monthly stipends - allawee!
Now it's time to realize that things don't usually go the way you've planned them. It's time to take full responsibility for your actions and time to take charge!
All the things listed above depends 100% on what you did with your life before and during the last one year.
Life is funny, according to the 80/20 principle, only 20% of our efforts gives 80% of the results and what makes the difference is how soon you focus on the 20% but most often we chase the 80% that contributes little or nothing to our success in life!
If you fall within the last set of people (80%) during your NYSC days, chances are that you may struggle than those that focused on the 20% - learning new skills, upgrading their thinking, volunteering, taking internship jobs etc and ultimately continuous reading and if you fall between the 20% group, you may still struggle as well, life they say "doesn't give you what you want, you take from life what you want" but if you won't give up, you'll smile in the end.

Now whether you spent your time on 80% or the 20%, I have this few tips for you before you start sending your CVs to potential employers.

  1. Have a mental shift! Some people after NYSC find it very difficult to wake up to the reality that they're no longer a student or a corp member. They still dress, talk and act like it's no man's business. If you're really ready for the real world, you can't afford to keep living in that light, you have to upgrade and have a mental shift. If you want to start a business, start thinking like a business owner and if you want to get a job, start thinking like a potential employee. It's better to think as an employer though but trust me in the long run, being an employer gives you more options. (I'll explain this in another post).

  2. Start with little and where you are. So many times we dream big, we all want to have a job that will pay 300k monthly but hey my friend, if you get a job that's willing to pay you 40k monthly please thank your ancestors and jump at it. Yes, you think I'm crazy for asking you to take 40k job after spending 4-7yrs in school and paid over 500k for tuition, textbooks, handouts, accommodation etc but look here, you're just one out of 1 million people that did same and they're still walking down the street in search of a job after 3yrs! Life is not nice and doesn't care what your story is until you're successful. Take the 40-50k job as long as you'll learn, grow and at least feed from it, if you're smart I can tell you within a year you'll have positioned yourself in a better chance of getting a job you deserve.

  3. Leverage on Social media! Do you know people get jobs, referral etc through people they met on social media? How do you use this vital tool called social media? Do you even have a LinkedIn account? If your answer is no, please immediately you finish reading this post, create an account. The first ever job I'll do in my life and I got paid in US dollars was done through LinkedIn and I've never set my eyes on him before. I've attended more than 5 interviews through LinkedIn and my current job was through LinkedIn! I see no reason why you should be on Snapchat, Facebook, Instagram, Twitter everywhere, buying data every 2 weeks just to upload a picture for your friends to like and share when you cannot use LinkedIn that can transform your life.
    If you struggle to understand how LinkedIn works, why not? Beep me anytime, I'll be glad to help.

My last tip.... Read books and watch YouTube tutorials more than you watch movies!
Listen to radio, news and follow genuine pages on social media that shares valuable information, you will feel better in every way.

If you have questions or need guidance or you want to learn more, feel free to drop your comment, like and share!

Sort:  

My God. I wish my upvote was worth $10 sir.

I wish youths knew Nigerian Universities can read this. I still don't understand why Nigerians can't understand that nysc currently has no vision.

Sometimes I tell people

get so good that people can't do without you.

That statement doesn't mean you must be liked by everybody, it means everyone who likes something good and something valuable, will value you.

Just yesterday i was teaching my lecturers in university of uyo about blockchain technology, because I've so invested time into it.

I'm resteeming this post sir.

Thanks so much brother, you're very right. The funniest part is, information is freely available to us in this generation but we hardly use them!

We make a living by what we get, but we make a life by what we give.

- Winston Churchill

Amazing post

Amazing write up...well done sir

I want to thank you for stopping by and reading my morning prayer it means a great deal to me. I hope you have a great weekend by the way you have my vote on this post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57979.07
ETH 3124.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36