Hello Steemit - I Am Your First Hypnotist

in #blog8 years ago (edited)

Don't Worry, Your Mind is Safe!

I have come here to start a blog about the daily life of a hypnotist in order to dispel many of the urban legends that prevent people from getting proper treatment that they so desperately need.

Not only will this blog be about hypnosis, I will also include real situations and even my shortcomings within these situations.

I make my living by helping others to resolve their issues and speaking at conferences around the world. In most countries hypnosis is viewed as every other form of treatment, but sadly in my country the United States it is considered a pseudoscience and this cost countless lives every year.

I would like to change that, so maybe by showing you guys what my days are like, how I make mistakes and how hopeless people's lives dramatically change for the better, it will at the very least open a dialogue which could save lives.

The Secret Life of a Hypnotist
https://steemit.com/hypnosis/@hypno/the-secret-life-of-a-hypnotist

The Secret Life of a Hypnotist - Part Two
https://steemit.com/hypnosis/@hypno/the-secret-life-of-a-hypnotist-part-two

Sort:  

Great to have you, @hypno! As a kid, I was fascinated by hypnosis, and I read a ton about it. It is indeed terrible how many people believe complete fictions about hypnosis. Although I've never successfully hypnotized myself, or been hypnotized, my readings tell me that it is an incredibly powerful tool for taking control of one's own mind and body, and I know the benefits are inestimable.

I look forward to reading your posts. :)

@modprobe
Thank You
You sound a lot like me :)

If you ever want to learn how to hypnotize yourself, have a hypnotist give you a trigger like "The finger drop technique" so you can drop in within seconds, I am not a fan of the traditional "self hypnosis" because you need someone to test you and make sure that you are in the desired state.

To make sure I'm understanding you correctly, are you pointing out that the trigger technique is different from the traditional method because it carries less risk of putting oneself into the wrong state; or are you saying that self hypnosis in general, including the trigger method, has that risk?

@modprobe
I wasn't referring to risks, you just need someone to test you to make sure you are were you want to be, in order to achieve somnambulism you have to relax your mind and body, but in order test yourself for somnambulism or give direct suggestions, you would have to stop relaxing and you would leave the state. So this is why you need someone else to show you how to achieve it, ensure you are there and then give you a trigger so you can reenter it at will.

Then later when you are alone you could repeat a suggestion, then drop into somnambulism and without any effort the suggestion would take hold with your mind and body being completely relaxed.

Also "triggers" are just a generic term for any action that can cause a response, so if I told someone every time I touched my nose they would enter somnambulism or their discomfort would melt away, touching my nose would be the trigger.

Traditional techniques typically use guided meditation (You are getting sleepy) which takes forever and if you can manage to not fall asleep, you never know what state you will end up in. This technique is very outdated and I rarely ever use it, but it is good for helping cancer patients.

@modprobe
Google: Gerald Kein
He has some videos that you can watch and I think you would really like them. I still watch some of his old seminars for fun and to keep my brain sharp.

Thank you for clarifying; it appears that much has changed in the field since I studied it as a child. I like where it has gone, the theory seems much better developed now. I think it may behoove me to try being hypnotized again at some point, as the guided meditation method you describe was the method used on me and was the method I used on myself.

To clarify my own question, when I say "risk" above, I don't mean some kind of danger; I only mean the possibility of failing to achieve the desired outcome.

@modprobe
Many people still teach the old ways and there are still tons of hypnosis books written each year telling us to use methods that were outdated in the 1960s and that is one of the major reasons why I started this blog. I can't tell you how much it pains me to hear a poorly educated hypnotist on TV or the radio giving out terrible advice just to make a few bucks. Also if a hypnotist can't explain hypnosis properly, I wouldn't trust them to be tinkering around in my head.

I've always been interested in this information ! I expect you still bolit details! quality articles on the Internet is very small and I would be pleased if you tell me about it! I'm sorry for my english , @hypno

I had a mistake in the translation. I corrected her . , @hypno

@maximkichev I put a lot of information in this article
https://steemit.com/hypnosis/@hypno/the-secret-life-of-a-hypnotist
If there is anything specific you would like to know, feel free to ask, I would be happy to answer all your questions.

I'd really like you to not write complex sentences , because when translated into our language is lost the meaning of the expressions . I learned a lot and wait for the next article ! , @hypno

How much of hypnotism is magic and how much is it power of suggestion? For example if someone is totally against hypnotism isnt it nearly impossible to hypnotize them?

It is not impossible if you were to use some of the methods like the televangelist Jerry Falwell used to use, but I would never use those methods in that manner. There is no magic at all, it is all the power of suggestion, the power of suggestion is so strong that if I told you in a state of somnambulism that my pen was a lit cigarette and you were willing to accept that suggestion, then pressed it to your skin, your skin would begin to bubble up in a way that is indistinguishable from a real burn.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.07
ETH 2731.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45