The Secret Life of a Hypnotist

in #hypnosis8 years ago (edited)

Monday 9:05 AM
I was sitting in my office, but I could have been on Mars for all I cared. I was completely zonked out, my eyes had rolled to the back of my head and I was in absolute bliss. I was completely unaware of my body and you could have drove a truck over me and I wouldn't have even noticed. This is the Esdaile State commonly referred to as the Coma State and it is my own personal holiday. In the distance I heard the most annoying and obnoxious sound, it was my secretary “Mr Smith is ready in room one.” To be fair anyone asking me for anything in this heavanly state sounds like nails on a chalkboard, but as much as it pained me to do it, I rose out of the Esdaile State and into Somnambulism.

Somnambulism is the working state of hypnosis, this is the state that all my clients must achieve in order for me to get to the root of their problems and for me to offer direct suggestions. I opened my eyes while remaining in Somnambulism because it allows me to operate at a much higher level, all my senses are heightened and my subconscious is feeding me information that in the conscious state I would struggle to recall, so this state is perfect to teach struggling students how to attain at will, so they can become honor roll students over night. My secretary handed me a kleenex because our noses run and we swell up while in hypnosis, it is important to have a female secretary to explain the swelling to female clients and to suggest loose fitting clothing and no wire bras that would become painful.

As I walked into room one I saw a man who would be considered grossly obese. He had just finished watching the preinterview video that is designed to remove any fears and explains what hypnosis is and is not. Shamefully he told me that he is here to loose weight, he went on to explain all the reasons why he can't loose the pounds and something about his moms cookies, but I wasn't listening. I immediately did what any other qualified hypnotist does, I pretend as if my fingers are wedged deeply in my ears and I loudly chanted “La la la, la la la,” over and over in my head, because he was speaking from his Conscious mind and the Conscious mind is a liar. If I listened to what he was saying there was a chance I might have believed him and if that happened, I would no longer be able to help him.

After about two minutes I interrupted him by saying “I think I have heard all I need to, are you ready to get better?” and he meekly said yes. I asked if he had any fears or concerns and he said he did. So I began to dispel the lingering issues that were not covered in the preinterview video, this is important because I cannot help someone to relax when they are scared to death of me and this is the number one reason why some people think they cannot be hypnotized.

I performed a modified Elman Induction which should allow him to reach Somnambulism in just over a minute, but all hell broke lose. The best and worst case scenario began happening right in front of me, every muscle in his body became tense and rigid, the cord-like muscles in the sides of his neck were bulging in a terrifying manner. Without touching him in any way, I calmly said the most important words that any hypnotist can ever learn “the scene fades and you tend to your breathing.” This was an abreaction, they are rare but I have to expect them at any time, what it means is that the subconscious is in desperate need unload some baggage and it views me as somebody that is qualified to help, so it jumped the gun and immediately regressed him to the cause of his problem in hopes of me fixing it. At this point all of his muscles were loose and relaxed and I asked him to remove the fear and to go back to the event on the count of three and he agreed so I proceeded.

Me: One, Two, Three, Is it day or night?
Mr Smith: Nighttime
Me: Are you inside or outside
Mr Smith: Inside
Me: What do you see
Mr Smith: I can't see anything the lamps been dry for weeks
Me: What year is it?
Mr Smith: 1893
Me: Are you male or female
Mr Smith: I'm a girl
Me: What is happening?
Mr Smith: Someone is hurting me and it hurts really bad

Reincarnation comes up from time to time and it is not my job to judge it, regardless if it is true or not the subconscious mind believes it enough to cause physical problems, so I fix whatever the subconscious tells me to fix. At this point I brought him out of the scene and asked for him to go back in as an observer without any fear or pain and he agreed. He then described a father sexually assaulting an 11 year old girl. I ask him to go to the next event that caused him to be obese, she (Mr Smith) is telling her mom about the assault, but her mom blamed her because of the way she looks.

We moved to the next event she (Mr Smith) was 22 years old and a woman was yelling at her, making fun of her looks and tearing part of her dress in the street while ruining her reputation by accusing her (Mr Smith) of sleeping with her husband. In the next event she (Mr Smith) was 26 years old and arguing with her husband who refused to let her leave the house out of jealousy, berating and hitting her for enticing other men, the argument escalated and he left her. The next event, he was a 5 month old baby boy and some ladies were pinching his cheeks saying, “He is so cute, he is going to be a heart breaker.”

I regressed Mr Smith back to the first event to speak to the 11 year old girl in words she could understand, I explain why it was not her fault and that it was wrong for her dad to treat her like that. It had nothing to do with the way she looked, maybe he would have done that to anybody because he may have been very sick. When speaking to the subconscious mind I never use absolutes unless I am giving direct suggestions, because there are times when I am wrong, if I say something as a matter of fact and I am wrong the subconscious will not only reject the suggest it will also shut me out by rejecting all my suggestions. So if I start my sentence with “maybe” or “perhaps” and I get it wrong the subconscious will reject that statement but think “he is a nice guy and he is doing his best to help me so I am going to keep listening.” The subconscious mind is basically a 5 year old and we were all in a state of somnambulism until the age of 5 getting programmed for the world, so when I speak to it, I have to use words that it can understand.

I then progressed him through each event explaining the situation and showing how it was not his fault, In this process I found out that in the former life he/she lost his husband and died alone, I asked if there was anything else I needed to do or say and he said “no.” So I began giving him direct suggestions, but what he didn't know is that I was really reading from a page of direct suggestions for weightloss and I was professionally taught the proper way to hold a piece of paper to where it never makes a sound as I walk around the room. That is more important than you might think, with their hearing being heightened they can hear a pin drop and if they catch me reading they might get mad and reject all the work we just did. I reinforce many suggestions and make sure he is feeling great as I count him into the conscious state, even after he opens his eyes I am still bombarding him with suggestions.

I handed him a Kleenex because his nose and mouth were a mess (hypnosis really is a dirty business) and he said “I am so stupid.” This is a common reaction, I explained “No your not stupid, this is just the way the mind deals with trauma in order to protect us.” He cleaned himself up and left and after a restroom break and a fresh bottle of water I went to see my second client.

This was a middle aged woman that wanted to be more successful and to remove her phobias, but the way she talked at me made me feel very uneasy and I realized that I don't like her. This is something that all hypnotist must be aware of, if you don't like the person you have no business attempting to hypnotize them because their subconscious will be aware of it. So I told the woman “You know my colleague Mr Jones has much more experience in phobias and he has an amazing track record with making people successful, let me get you his card.” She bitterly complained “You could have told me this over the phone” and gave an angry sigh. This happens from time to time and I take many of his clients also, if I can't help them I don't charge them so it is better to get them on their way as soon as possible. I decided to take an early lunch and zonk myself out until the afternoon.

The Secret Life of a Hypnotist - Part Two
https://steemit.com/hypnosis/@hypno/the-secret-life-of-a-hypnotist-part-two

Sort:  

I've been fascinated with the topic of reincarnation for some time now. I first came across Dr. Brian Weiss' book, 'Many Lives, many masters' and was instantly hooked. Very interesting.

@comealong
Some of my clients have also mentioned that book, but I have not read it. I may later write about a girl that reclaimed a previous life that she discovered while being regressed, the story was original told by a colleague at a conference and it is one of the most fascinating and strangest that I have ever heard.

You should, I'd love to hear it. Sure to be an interesing read :)

Fascinating article and line of work. You have a real talent for this, I can sense. If one wanted to go into this line of work, where would you start? Are there any good books worth reading?

Thank you

I studied at https://omnihypnosis.com/ and they really are the best that I am aware of. There are many bad schools that still teach methods from the 1950s and are afraid to use somnambulism, instead they teach Alpha Beta Delta states, if you hear someone use those terms, Run.

Google - Gerald Kein he started Omnihypnosis and invented Ultra Height, see if you can find some of his videos, that would be a good place to start.

Can you give a general overview of what's wrong with the alpha/beta/delta model?

@modprobe The old theory is that by hypnotizing someone you are controlling their brainwave patterns, but when I bring someone into somnambulism to do work their brainwave patterns can move through all those states, for example when Mr Smith had the abreaction his brain wave patterns would be the same as someone in extreme distress and under that model he would not be hypnotized, but in the current model we know he was in somnambulism the entire time.

Ahh, very interesting. That was the model I learned when reading books as a kid, but I can easily appreciate that it was a naive oversimplification. As with almost everything in the human body, it's far more complex than we think it is. Expecting an EEG to tell you everything relevant about the state of the brain is like expecting a thermometer to tell you everything relevant about the state of a pool.

@modprobe I like that thermometer analogy :)

Gerry is not the only person who can teach you hypnosis. I like him a lot, too, BUT hypnosis can't and shouldn't be taught as a prescription. It is an art and craft. Ask yourself this: what do you need hypnosis for? Become a hypnotist? Become better at communication? Gerry is good, but look for others - google Erickson, read reviews, search for books on amazon and read great ones. Do your research first.

Great topic for a post. Very well done.

Thank You
I was going to post it on reddit to give people an idea of how hypnosis actually works because it is currently seen as a pseudoscience and this causes people to suffer and die when they could have easily gotten better, for a very small fraction of what they spent on traditional therapy. I ended up posting it here instead because I want to be the first hypnotist on here, so when a hypnotist gives terrible advice I might be able to warn against it and have the trust of the community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58617.29
ETH 3164.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44