I Need Ransome For My Info

in #blog6 years ago

Storage and Word Processing Software is Becoming like Extortionist
I am getting a bit annoyed by electronic media. As I was trying to do my taxes, all the statements I saved in PDFs that I used to be able to access are not printable. Now Adobe wants $15 a month to just be able to print! (Thank goodness for snippet)
I bought the home student version of MS Office one year ago, now it will not even open. I had just finished many pages of information for a case that I had to recover otherwise several hours of work would have been wasted. I also had to spend several hours retrieving what was negatively affected by MS Office.
Had a perfectly good working operating system Version 7, than 10 insists that I eat it or it would eliminate my email. I had to retrain myself how to overcome all the dang bugs and inconveniences of it for many days or weeks.
Drop box charges monthly to be able to transfer large files. If I buy MS 365, they will charge anually for email and monthly for their suite. Shoe box was a free app, then they said all your photos will be converted to low resolution if I don't pay $10 monthy, and they were stuck, I could not transfere those photos to my email or gallery. Nothing said it was a trial period. I thought it was a courtesy when the cell phone tech recomended it.
It is begining to nickle and dime for every last thing that used to come with a computer if you bought the software. I want to go back to snail mail, this is outrageous. I still use paper anyways. Meanwhile I pay annually for virus protection, and feel like it is a band-aid for a broken arm.
I would not pirate software, I believe they deserve their fair share, but several charges individually for word processing on a mothly basis adds up quick to nearly thousands of dollars, depending on what you have.
When I purchase software, I expect maintenance charges annually at a fraction of the purchase cost, but now they want software purchased monthly. I tried office for Mac in 2006, it failed to work. How is Linux, does anyone use it? If so, please let me know if there is a way around this bottomless pit, my info is beign held hostage.

Sort:  

LibreOffice is an alternative for MS Office. It has some drawbacks too and few instabilities but it getting better overtime. It works ok on both Windows and Linux. The import from MS Office is ok too, but I am not a power user and I really use the basic set of features.
For Email, I am not using any application now. Before, I was using Mozilla Thunderbird which I found ok, but it is lacking some features you have in MS Outlook, may be there is some improvement since.

I used to have Hotmail, it became windows live mail in 7, now it is a next to a useless outlook version with sync problems. I finally retrieved my folders by looking in deleted files. I am glad I have gmail as a backup. So happy to get reviews and advise because these coders are getting too malicious, forcing software that acts more like viruses on clients and old customers. I am hoping to get a good email server on word press, but it may not be a bad idea to get Mozilla Thunderbird also. Thank you so much for your advise.

Congratulations @holdilocks! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

Upvote this notificationto to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @holdilocks! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63630.78
ETH 3406.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55