Blog: Everyday life isn't that normal here today 🙈

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Oh boy it’s snowing again in the Netherlands. During the week this always creates troubles for the people living in my country. On a normal day like this, the whole country is going mad. Our national train company the Dutch railways the NS they changed their schedule. We had a record during the evening traffic on the road (almost 2300km). All of this because of a few centimeters of snow. Lucky me I could arrange at my customer that I stayed at home today for work!😅

Code yellow

Now my social media channels are flooded with messages like, why can’t our government do something about this!?, Why can the trains ride on time in other countries, but our NS needs to change the schedule, why can’t our trains overcome 2cm of snow!? You read it very well I think, we Dutchies have one sport and it isn’t football where we are the reigning world-champion for decades. We Dutchies like to complain!

How come that we won’t hear this from other countries when they have meters of snow, like Austria? How come normal life can find its way while there are meters of snow outside?

Most important thing, those countries are prepared for these circumstances with meters of snow. Like when I was in Iceland, all the cars do have spikes in their tyres. People there didn’t go out without spikes under their shoes.
Everyone knows that the snow will come one day for sure, they are prepared and try to live with that.

NS and snowy weather
IA12 Arnhem
Source Source

In the Netherlands it is more unique. Tonight, I’ve seen a diagram in the news from the last 50 years or something. Where my parents had an average of 20 days of snow yearly when they were still kids. Nowadays the average is around 6 days of snow. So here it is becoming more and more unique. So why would we adapt normal life to these circumstances? We even have to remove the dust from the gritters I think…?

While all the people here in the Netherlands think I need to go to work, we have another problem. There are way too many people on our roads during peak-times in traffic in a very small country. Let me compare Austria with the Netherlands, the size of the country is more than twice that of the Netherlands, with half the people living in it.

Austria
Netherlands
Size 83.871 km² 41.543 km²
Residents 8.754.413 (2017) 17.084.719 (2017)

Any solution for the people in my country?

@dboontje already replied it to my reaction at the post of @exyle, that there is always a choice. I do agree @dboontje, all the people in the Netherlands have a choice. Are we going to complain or not. Let’s face it, we love to complain. My solution would be less complaining, because everything is so damn well arranged here. Those procurements from the NS are there to make sure that everything will be fine, otherwise the chaos would be probably way worse. Sorry for the Dutch saying, maar dan zijn de rapen zeker gaar (the hell breaks loose)!

No serious people, our habit complaining is part of the national character here. We Dutchies love to complain, ask anyone here and they won't admit it, but I'm sure everyone likes it! And I love everyone doing it 😍

PS. Yes tomorrow I'll join all the people in traffic again 😉

Sources:

Please Follow, Upvote and Resteem

If you like my content, don't forget to upvote this post and follow me for more every day life stories! Also, I will be happy if you leave a comment to tell me your thoughts and resteem this post to share my work!

Banner

Travelfeed

travelfeed

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord. How does travelfeed work? Simple just use the tag #travelfeed in your travel posts (min. 250 words) for a chance to be curated!


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://surfingnomad.nl/travel/netherlands/blog-everyday-life-isnt-that-normal-here-today-%f0%9f%99%88/

Sort:  

It’s equally as bad in the UK when it rains there!

Thankfully no snow but beautiful instead here in New Zealand 😎

Posted using Partiko iOS

New Zealand is beautiful in the snow btw ;)
But I think only Auckland knows this kind of traffic delays...? 🤔

Have you ever heard about the Deutsche Bahn...? :D

Hehe YES I did hear about it and I'd love to drive there😎

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by guchtere from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Whoa! I just check the site. You could link Steem comment with the site??? 👀 Please guide me howww 🙈🙈🙈

I’ll show you tomorrow. Now time to sleep😴
My alarm will ring in a few hours...😱

Posted using Partiko iOS

@waybeyondpadthai as you can see in the screenshot, nothing fancy in my Wordpress code.

steem_code.JPG

When you have any other questions about this, feel free to ask!

Thanks! I think I'm in shock!! lol

In shock!? Why on earth would you be in shock about a piece of code? 😉

how could I do that tho? could you send me the code thing and guide me a bit how. This would be awesome so that my blog doesn't look so dead and also it's sure a way to tell the world about STEEM!

I’ve send you a message at Discord. Will help you out with it:)

Posted using Partiko iOS

I agree with you all, but the Dutch are zeikerds but i love them anyway and the snow too.

Zeikerds for sure! But on the other hand zijn we met zijn allen zulke schatjes 🤣

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Your blog looks great.

Same thing happens in UK. Whole country shuts down when it snows. Crazy.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you dear! 😍
Does that happen in the whole UK? or only like @goodwithtravels mentions during the rain. Oh wait there is always rain I assume... 🤔

Haha I meant snow but in fairness in the UK the trains will shut down over just about anything, including leaves on the line sometimes!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hehe with leaves our trains stop riding to! The trains get square wheels from braking over the leaves.😅

Posted using Partiko iOS

It snowed here 2 days ago and I was cycling HAhah, I think I was the only crazy one.

Cycling in the snow is fun indeed! Did you had the proper tyres? ;)

No proper tyres @guchtere, it's part of the challenge hahahahhaha

Hi, @guchtere!

You just got a 2.49% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @guchtere!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.343 which ranks you at #2433 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 31 places in the last three days (old rank 2464).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 364 contributions, your post is ranked at #48.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 24.10% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @guchtere!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 15 SBD and the respective amount in Steem.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67971.67
ETH 2643.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67