2018-02-26: Non-Greek Plain Low-fat Yogurt

in #blog6 years ago

Shallow Thoughts

I like to eat non-Greek plain low-fat yogurt. It's naturally sweet and provides the perfect balance of natural milk sugar (lactose), fat, and protein to fuel my post-workout recovery. Unfortunately, Americans like to add lots of SUGAR to their yogurt, effectively negating all the benefits. What's worse, normal grocery stores cater to this sugar addiction. I know I could go to the Whole Foods across town and buy this:

I'd rather not to out of my way for a single grocery item, so I've been on a mission for the last month. . . I'm trying to buy non-Greek plain low-fat yogurt from a normal grocery store. The closest I can ever get is this, from WalMart:

54138179648__9508CE4E-1715-4C86-9947-20E081E7325C.jpeg

That flower on the packaging means "vanilla". It has become the bane of my existence. Vanilla ice cream is delicious. Vanilla yogurt is disgustingly sweet. This is one of those bizarre problems of the first world.

Deep Roots

Today was another sunny, beautiful day, so I got outside during my lunch break and planted Sun Sugar and Husky Red:

tomato_plants.jpg

I know that with a little sunshine and TLC they'll be uncontrollable monsters by July, but for now I'll enjoy the baby pics:

sun_sugar.jpg

Now that I've done a bit of planting I have a better idea of how large my veggie patch is, so I'll have to put a little more thought into layout and placement to make the most of the growing season. It's great to get back into the dirt!

Daily Stats

Cash: 13.1%
Core: 74.8%
Explore: 12.1%
Workout: 35min dog walk, planting tomatoes
Alcohol: None
Supplements: Zinc 30mg, Magnesium 450mg
Sleep: midnight to 6:45am, twice broken

663|53

Sort:  

I love that you have your own harvest !! I have a small planting of cilantro and tomato on my balcony! It's something tiny but I'm proud to have it !!

Even the smallest garden is a very fulfilling act of creation. I find that produce from my own garden always tastes better than store bought. . . I'm sure it's purely a psychological effect, but I enjoy it anyway!

It is interesting to ask why foods in the United States are so sweet and also bring so much chemical I can affirm that you say, because when I went on vacation in 2016 I observed how people were so sweet from the super market, that if necessary but not in excess , then you could ocacionarte a disease that could take you to a lifelong treatment or even worse death ...

Successes in your harvest!

Indeed, America is addicted to sugar, it's completely ubiquitous. People are starting to learn the dangers of too much sugar, but it's a very slow process...

It turns out the benefits are lost if we add sugar. Thanks for the information. The plant will grow very quickly with very useful results. Good luck always for you @grolelo.

this is very important information for me. in my place very rarely do people consume yoghurt. by the way you do very well. Good luck. and keep sharing other useful things. thanks. i will resteem this.

The lush tomato tree,
In addition to sunshine, tomato trees also need watering, no need to use fertilizer karna for own consumption ... wow vanilla ice cream is very fresh in summer.

So u r a vanilla lover..!! 😀

good to see u enjoying the gardening..!

how's the tennis sessions of ur girl going..? any update on tht..?

~Tennis Girl 🎾🎾

Thanks for asking, the first tennis tournament is in 3 days! She's a bit nervous, but my wife and I are probably even more nervous for her ;-P

Regardless of the outcome, it'll be a great experience for the whole family, and we're looking forward to many more!

great..!!!
Best wishes for her..! 🤗
would be a great experience surely..!

I love the idea of ​​having my own veggie patch, I have read several of your posts, and it is very informative I like it, thanks for this

You're very welcome, glad to hear you're enjoying the posts!

Of course, thank you for the welcome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55528.94
ETH 2373.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36