The Single Handed Sailor - just an amazing story and it is real

in #blog5 years ago (edited)

The Single Handed Sailor experienced real tragedy in 2008 when at the hands of a drunk driver he was nearly killed and left to die on the side of the road. The doctors told his parents to be prepared because he was not likely to live through the night. He miraculously did survive, but needed to have an arm and a leg amputated in the process. Now ask yourself? How would you carry on at this point? Would you just live off the insurance settlement and become relegated to obscurity? Or would you strive to achieve greatness?

Dustin Reynolds, a.k.a. "The Single Handed Sailor" decided to not just whither away, but instead to live a life of adventure and accomplishment that I think a vast majority of people with all of their limbs can't even dream of. Not only did he learn how to carry on by way of lots of physical therapy and basically learning to walk again, but he also does things with a vigor and dedication that puts me to shame.


I went on a mountain trek with him about a year ago and even though he is missing a leg, he was way more up to the task then I was. He was leaving me in the dust and was waiting for me at various parts of the climb. This is truly remarkable because we are around the same age and I go to the gym 5 days a week. I am NOT in bad shape. Was he gloating about this? Of course not. He remained modest despite the fact that he definitely earned some bragging rights that day.


In 2014 Dustin determined he wanted to be the first double amputee to complete a solo round-the-globe sailing mission and while he has definitely had some setbacks as far as equipment failures are concerned, he never gave up. I get updates from him on a regular basis about where he is and what sort of crazy adventure he is involved in but recently, his latest pictures really blew my mind. It is also worth noting that at the start of this trip he had very little sailing experience.

49037962_515813122277335_7348600309431664640_n.jpg

On what he said was his only "sunny and glassy day" Dustin posted these pictures from off the coast of Antarctica a few days ago.

49690790_515813322277315_3637622297944129536_n.jpg

I am just in awe at this and to be honest it seems a bit spooky to me. I mean, he is completely alone down there. He has a store of food on board but for the most part he has to catch and cook all of his own grub, as well as control a small craft in what is many times very frightening and unforgiving oceans, all with one less arm and leg than most people have.

49135422_516486785543302_7374109979923447808_n.jpg
in the middle of a blue iceberg

He showed us some videos of penguins coming up on his boat and doing their thing on the shore as well. He is basically living a National Geographic special right now and I think it is just incredible. I mean, I really admire that guy. He was handed a very raw deal in life more than a decade ago and not only has he coped, which in itself would be commendable, he has thrived and went on to accomplish things that most of us don't have anywhere near the courage necessary to do it.

It kind of puts things into perspective for me anytime i am letting life get me down. Sometimes I take it totally for granted exactly how privileged I am. I know that most of what I do on this page is to be judgemental about films and what not but this real-life story.... it will be a movie one day and I think rightfully so.

all photos used with permission and were taken from the Single Handed Sailor website

Follow Dustin on FB

Dustin's Gofundme

Sort:  

Now that's a pretty inspiring guy. I really wish that I could figure out how to be such a go-getter. Especially since there is nothing wrong with me; except for the fact that I'm over weight, but once again - my own fault.

I would really love to experience being in those pristine waters around the icebergs, but I am like you I think.. It's a bit spooky! I'd hate for something to go wrong out there. Forget about it!

yeah, i think the fear factor would be part of the rush. I know there are plenty of things down there that can literally eat your face off of you in one swipe so it might be a little scary if some giant land/sea mammal got territorial near your tiny sailboat. I would imagine that Dustin has some level of weaponry on board but probably doesn't want to have to use it!

This shows to prove that a man ability is not based on his physical features but it is based on his courage and desire for himself, this is truly a life lesson for all of us to learn from to be courageous and positive about ourselves @gooddream

happy year my friend ... The first article read is yours my respects. To enjoy and keep growing in the community.

wow he overcame a physical disability and showed to the whole world that physical disabilities are surmountable challenges. i take my hat off to him for his efforts

amazing story friend
thank you for sharing
resteemid

Amazing guy!! He’s such an inspiration! Antarctica is a special place! Beautiful photos!

All the best for the New Year.

Posted using Partiko iOS

this man is truly an inspiration despite of having a disability he still doing things that make him happy. more power to this man!

Very inspirational

Posted using Partiko iOS

🏆 Hi @gooddream! You have received 0.5 STEEM reward for this post from the following subscribers: @cardboard
Subscribe and increase the reward for @gooddream :) | For investors.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63549.78
ETH 3107.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88