You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bunnypuncher debate topic - Let's figure out: WEED (3 good entries will win 2 Steem each)

in #blog6 years ago

I do live in a state where medical marihuana (their spelling. not mine) is legal; and recreational is on the November ballot.

That being noted:

  • I am a legal card carrying MMMP card holder and grower in my state.
  • I have an auto-immune disease which causes major episodes of vertigo, nausea and, more or less, mental discombobulation in my daily life

I grow and consume for medical reasons, not recreational use. Without the usage of marijuana, my life would be worthless. It helps me get through an episode of vertigo; which occurs 3-4 days per week. It helps ease me through the nausea. It helps me maintain a somewhat livable life. It helps me sleep off the vertigo and so many other symptoms that can make my daily life miserable. CBD oil is the same.

I feel an episode starting, I will take some CBD oil or hit my THC e-cig... and I am relaxing. The anxiety of knowing what will be happening during the oncoming episode is starting to drift away.

But as for the recreational reasons to make this legal:

  • Just imagine ALL the people that can be put to work... from growers to trimmers, botanists and farmers. From the truck drivers and harvesters to the sales' staff. Unemployment would take a huge drop. People of all levels of education could benefit from employment. Plus... let's not forget the state revenue that could be taken in. Excise tax on the sales could pay for rebuilding roads and other infrastructure... school systems could get some much needed revenue for supplies... sales tax could be lowered to make the cost of living more attainable for some.
  • Opioid addiction- My husband is one of the sad cases of doctors writing prescriptions for controlled, Schedule 1 opioids. For over 5 years he has been taking all sorts of controlled substances for chronic pain (even after having neck and back surgeries). The doctors think NOTHING of writing out a script for percocet, oxycontin or morphine when marijuana is a much better alternative. Marijuana doesn't infiltrate your body and add acetaminophen; ruining your kidneys or building up in your system and liver- which can cause organ failure.

I am 100% advocating for marijuana to be made legal- at both the state and federal levels.

Sort:  

Excellent comment you are for sure in the running for the top 3 :)

Thank you! Speaking the truth is what I'm all about; and advocating for medical marijauna, as well as the stigma implanted into the general public's minds due to government/Harry Anslinger's close-minded thinking are part of the main reason why any cannabis related laws are hindered.

Mad respect for you golden!

Thank you @jonyoudyer! Back at ya!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57491.44
ETH 3031.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38