You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 01/30/18> So, you want some State Wars do you? Alright then…

in #blog7 years ago

When researching for my post on Texas I found out the below isn't true!

Let me just say that Texas is the only state in the USA can fly it’s flag side by side at the same height as the American flag of the USA.

I found that any state flag can fly with the USA flag at the same height gasp I know! As a Texan, since I found this on the internet, I know this can't be true.

Love how you included references to others posts in this one to prove just how superior Texas is!

Sort:  

Yea, you can read anything on the internet but reading the law would be a good place to start.
"When the United States flag is displayed with the flags of states of the union or
municipalities and not with the flags of other nations, the federal flag, which
represents all states, should be flown above and at the center of the other flags.46" as quoted from the Congressional Research Service on Flag Laws Relating to United States Flag.
The Texas flag being a flag of "another nation" gives it equal status to the flying height.
Glad you liked the references, best ammunition in a battle is free ammunition if it is the right caliber for your weapon.

It is a common urban legend that the Texas flag is the only state flag that is allowed to fly at the same height as the U.S. flag. ... According to the United States Flag Code, any state flag can be flown at the same height as the U.S. flag, but the U.S. flag should be on its right (the viewer's left)

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flag_of_Texas

I trust my reading skills more than I trust wikishit, just the way I am.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60701.29
ETH 2637.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52