Sleep, and Lack Thereof

in #blog6 years ago

Watching children grow and change is a rewarding, and at times humorous thing. When my children were babies I followed the “wonder weeks” philosophy closely. The Wonder Weeks is a book based on research suggesting that babies go through mental growth spurts in addition to the physical growth spurts that send them waking up needing the next shoe size. According to the research, “wonder weeks” occur at somewhat predictable times throughout infancy. During these times, babies are often very fussy because they have just become more aware of the world around them, and naturally they find this frustrating. The last “mental leap” stops a little shy of 18 months, but the implication is that children continue to have growth spurts of the intellect and the associated fussiness.

I think my four-and-a-half year old has gone through a leap of sorts in the last few days. We were visiting family during this time. That night we settled down to sleep much later than usual. After the light was turned out and all seemed quiet, lovely, and absolutely perfect for the deep soothing sleep that only a parent can understand, he suddenly burst into tears. He clinched and shook his fists in an expression of the intensity of his emotion. The following exchange took place:

“I forgot to bring my teddy bear so I won’t be scared!” (Since when do you cuddle a teddy bear?)

“We will find the one grandma has tomorrow. Let’s go to sleep.”

A peaceful silence of two minutes followed, and then new tears and fist clinching.

“I don’t remember what I want to do tomorrow!” (Since when do you plan activities?)

“We will figure it out tomorrow. Goodnight.”

A peaceful silence of one minute followed as he drifted to sleep. I thought I had it in the bag—I was having visions of eating chocolate without sharing and writing without interruption—and then he jerked awake with the tears and fist clinching once more, but then in only a half cognizant state. He cried out:

“I’m not remembering what I’m saying!” (Since when are you so self-aware?)

I laughed. “Go to sleep baby.”

rsz_1img_20180417_222852_1.jpg

And he drifted into a peaceful eight hour sleep.

He is certainly transitioning out of preschool and into Kindergarten. And that is an exciting thing.

Sort:  

THIS :) I have been thinking about this lately! These leaps happen more and more often, my little one grows up so fast

Yes, it is sad and wonderful all at the same time.

Awww this is so cute! 😊

Thanks, he is a cute little guy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63964.02
ETH 2592.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75