How to light charcoal when you don't have fluid or starter blockasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog7 years ago

A couple of months ago, I remember reading a post from @exyle that he was either running low or out of starters for his Big Green Egg. I mentioned this solution in a comment, but I thought it was time to write a post about the simple solution.

It all starts with bacon

Every time I cook bacon, I put the drippings in a mason jar and leave it in the fridge.

Since grease is hydrophobic, the extra moisture is not a problem.

Then, you add some paper towel.

In my case, I typically use 4 paper towels. But you could use any type of paper product.

Simply smear smear the bacon grease over the paper towels.

Then fold the paper towels into nice little packages

I like to fold my paper towels into thirds. This makes a nice amount of flame.

These can be stored in the freezer indefinitely. (As far as I know)

The easy part

Now it's time to start a fire. :-)

Simply put a couple (I chose four) of the fire starters under the coals

Then light them, have a nice drink and wait for the Egg to heat up.

A couple minutes later ...

Time to put the food on the grill

You can always use any other oil on the paper towel ... but why use an oil you would prefer to use, instead of using something that you were planning to throw out anyways. Besides ... the smell of bacon is always a nice start to the BBQ.

Sort:  

That's how I learnt to light charcoals in the past. Found out later in Holland there were tools to do it, but I think doing it with the fat is much more fun :)

I agree. And I almost always have a little bacon fat in the fridge.

As long as you never use lighter fluid in a ceramic BBQ. The smell seeps into the pours and you can smell it in the food. ☹️

I love BBQ..Your have explained everything step by step but unfortunately that grill is not available in our country.Thanks for sharing this method with us :)

hey so nice I really like your post! Thanks for it! I actually wrote my 2nd part of my introduceyouself and I write about that I went to jail because of cryptos... lets make steemit together to a better place with our content! I would like to read a bit more about you and maybe do you have some more pictures? Maybe you upvote me and follow me swell as I do? https://steemit.com/counterfeit/@mykarma/2-jail-review-counterfeit-euro-speeeeending-time

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.50
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77