You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: VR / AR / MR / XR / RR: Why you shouldn't care about the differences.

in #blog7 years ago

LOL! I totally thought this was going to going a different way.

I'm extremely interested in augmented reality, but not for some pokemon game. I've never even played it. I've been following AR for years, since I first saw experimental creations that fit in huge backpacks.

This crap on your phone? Not that interested.

These names though, they're shit that comes out of the mouths of people that market travesties. You buy a cow, and you get a picture on a carton of milk.

Sort:  

Hope you're ok with the way it went. haha. Sometimes I start writing something serious, then I get a bit pissed off as I type :P

Here's a question for you though. If not your phone, then what? Why are you excited about AR?

Oh god...I hope no marketing assholes are listening.

I want fully immersive AR. One might say IR. XD LOL

No, seriously, the stuff that Microsoft lied about doing. That's the stuff I've been waiting on for like over 10 years. But, you know, not shitty.

I want a pair of goggles, or glasses, where I can have a virtual pet running around, or have things projected on the wall when I look at it, or more info when I look at a product, etc, etc.

Edit: As for the way it went, I thought it was going to be anti-VR, not anti-marketing. So I'm fine with it.

Haha. VR is my main source of income. Would never be anti-VR.

What you want in AR is the goal really, I'm excited about it as well. Thinking about it as I pick up my phone and read steemit at 7am unable to sleep, it might be a problem for me though. With all that stimulation (virtual pet, ability to check feeds etc.) I'll probably never sleep again.

Luckily we're pretty far from. That vision still. The best AR headset I've tried is the hololens, and it's not very good (as you said). So maybe I have a few years to figure out how to get by on less sleep :P

I think it will actually be good. At least in some ways. We might not be as strapped to one place anymore.

Like when Pokemon Go came out, a lot of people got out there and looked for them. I saw a kid with two phones walking down the street. Crazy.

Now, I'm not saying there's not gonna be an app for the phone that does some type of AR that I'd be interested...but I haven't been that interested so far.

As far as AR with some kind of goggles, all it really needs is a device good enough people will pay for it. Text overlays alone would be extremely useful in daily life. Of course, most people wouldn't pay $1500 for a text overlay that tells then the number of calories in the meal they're about to eat, or gives them a list of recipes for stuff in their fridge. They want some stupid game.

Pretend I have some voting power and I just upvoted this. Haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62134.47
ETH 2417.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54