VR / AR / MR / XR / RR: Why you shouldn't care about the differences.

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Everyone knows about VR (Virtual Reality) by now. You may even have heard of AR (Augmented Reality), but what about MR, XR and RR?

Have a guess if you care to. I'll wait. I'm not going to tell you what they mean yet, because I think there's something important to be said first.

NOBODY CARES!

Of course everyone knows what VR is, it's been around in various forms for a long time. Some great Sci-Fi has been written about it. If you've heard of AR it's probably because of SnapChat, or the highly successful Pokémon Go app that launched in 2016.

The rest have been coined recently (mostly by large companies marketing departments) to try to separate themselves from the pack in an already small and fragmented group of in-the-know immersive technologies enthusiasts.

The issue here is two fold. Firstly, if you're going to coin a new term, you need enough people to care what it means in the first place. The reason we now know what AR is, is that millions(billions?) of people have seen what it is in the form of Pokemon. There's no point in trying to boil down something that no one has heard of to a catchy 2 letter abbreviation. Even if you do know the meaning, try asking a friend "Have you seen that new XR device from company X?". No doubt, they will respond by asking what "XR" is.

Secondly, you can't change language by force (especially in this case, where hardly anyone has a proper VR device).

I need to explain what MR, XR and RR... Are... (I sound like a bloody pirate), now so that you can fully understand this point.

MR (MIXED-REALITY): Was first dreamed up by Microsoft to describe their HoloLens device and confuse people. For all intents and purposes, it's AR, just Microsoft branded.

XR (EXTENDED-REALITY / X-REALITY / CROSS-REALITY): Designed to be a catch 'em all (get it?) term for AR, VR, and MR; I don't know where it originated, nor do I care, it's unnecessary and confusing and whomever coined it deserves a stern talking to, in my opinion.

RR (REAL REALITY): Yes, you read that correctly. Now do you get what I'm throwing down?

What you have to realize about burgeoning tech industry people, is that a lot of them (outside of the core developers and visionaries) are useless. They see something they think might be the "next big thing", then jump in front of people waving their arms saying things like "Oh ya? Well, have you heard about X-R? You should fly me out to your conference to do a talk about it!". No joke, this is super common. I won't even go to most VR conferences now, because I know half the ass-hats doing talks are doing things like this. Why would I listen to some talent-less clown, on stage, regurgitate what I told them about 4 years ago with new marketing terms?

I digress.

The point is, until everyone has an "XR" device with a giant "XR" logo on it, and all the kids are playing the fancy new "XR" game, you should put it out of your head.

For now, these terms do nothing but hurt the industries that they've sprung from. Confusing potential customers in an already fragmented market and muddling the language.

Thanks for reading!

Follow me @anticleric to read more rants about the VR industry and more.

UPDATE:

Sort:  

sales and marketing.
two of my least favorite types of people.

The VR industry is choking on them.

it would seem that the more marketing there is..
the less product there is to sell.
it's all hype...

By using technology it really we can say that ,
Modern game over all..
I realize this is
..Carry on ...
Thanks for sharing

Should also think about adding in a bit about haptic technology and how it all integrates together makes the VR/AR feel so much more life like first major haptic technology was dreamcast force feedback

LOL! I totally thought this was going to going a different way.

I'm extremely interested in augmented reality, but not for some pokemon game. I've never even played it. I've been following AR for years, since I first saw experimental creations that fit in huge backpacks.

This crap on your phone? Not that interested.

These names though, they're shit that comes out of the mouths of people that market travesties. You buy a cow, and you get a picture on a carton of milk.

Hope you're ok with the way it went. haha. Sometimes I start writing something serious, then I get a bit pissed off as I type :P

Here's a question for you though. If not your phone, then what? Why are you excited about AR?

Oh god...I hope no marketing assholes are listening.

I want fully immersive AR. One might say IR. XD LOL

No, seriously, the stuff that Microsoft lied about doing. That's the stuff I've been waiting on for like over 10 years. But, you know, not shitty.

I want a pair of goggles, or glasses, where I can have a virtual pet running around, or have things projected on the wall when I look at it, or more info when I look at a product, etc, etc.

Edit: As for the way it went, I thought it was going to be anti-VR, not anti-marketing. So I'm fine with it.

Haha. VR is my main source of income. Would never be anti-VR.

What you want in AR is the goal really, I'm excited about it as well. Thinking about it as I pick up my phone and read steemit at 7am unable to sleep, it might be a problem for me though. With all that stimulation (virtual pet, ability to check feeds etc.) I'll probably never sleep again.

Luckily we're pretty far from. That vision still. The best AR headset I've tried is the hololens, and it's not very good (as you said). So maybe I have a few years to figure out how to get by on less sleep :P

I think it will actually be good. At least in some ways. We might not be as strapped to one place anymore.

Like when Pokemon Go came out, a lot of people got out there and looked for them. I saw a kid with two phones walking down the street. Crazy.

Now, I'm not saying there's not gonna be an app for the phone that does some type of AR that I'd be interested...but I haven't been that interested so far.

As far as AR with some kind of goggles, all it really needs is a device good enough people will pay for it. Text overlays alone would be extremely useful in daily life. Of course, most people wouldn't pay $1500 for a text overlay that tells then the number of calories in the meal they're about to eat, or gives them a list of recipes for stuff in their fridge. They want some stupid game.

Pretend I have some voting power and I just upvoted this. Haha

love that ...i will do that i mean i will try that soon

And now Elon Musk has been working on a "Wizard Hat" too. Can't wait to try one :::)

Wait what? Haha. I have to look this up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 67928.13
ETH 3777.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75