Three "That's So Guy!" Stories

in #blog6 years ago

Two days ago I published a "5 facts about me" post, but I still have so much to share. Instead of "facts", I'll go for stories instead, stories that made people in the past go, "That's so Guy!" stories that capture who I am, or who I used to be, in terms of mindset.

Curious Self-Electrocution:
Double lightning.jpg
Image source.

I was a very inquisitive child. I was blessed by the fact both of my parents had both patience and knowledge to answer many of my queries about the natural world.
As a child, I'd use a magnifying glass on a dead cat's tail that was in our front yard, and so I learned the scent of burnt flesh. I'd decapitate a praying mantis and observe as it'd maul its head after I placed it between its claws.

But I had this lamp. The sort with two naked-metal rods running from its base to the lamp itself. When you touched both rods at the same time, you'd get a little jolt.

I was in the sixth grade, and I was curious. So I turned the lamp off, opened my mouth, and placed one lip on each of the two rods. I turned the lamp on.
I saw the light. Quite literally. I think I ran downstairs and hugged my mother as my heart raced. Oh, did it race.

Nobody's Special:

Snowflake.jpg

Image source.

You know the saying, "Everyone is special, just like everybody else"? What if I told you I only understood that people meant this literally, in a manner analogous to how snowflakes are all unique, yet similar, or fingerprints, in my 20s? For most of my life I focused on the "Like everyone else," and took this statement to mean, "You're special - just like everyone else, meaning, not at all."

Yeah. Funny how language works. Or my younger mind, I guess.

The Value of Saying "Sorry":
Question communication.jpg
Image source.

I was about 13 or 14 at the time, in a tennis practice. I used to play quite a bit of tennis back then. I hit a ball, and it hit the instructor.
He looked at me.
I looked at him.
He looked at me.

After a while, he asked me why I did not say I'm sorry for hitting him with the ball. I explained to him then. Of course that one should say they are sorry after such an event. I knew it. He knew it. He knew I knew it. I knew he knew I knew it.
So, considering the above, why bother saying you're sorry? We both know that I should, so let's just look at it as if I had, and move on.

Ah, I used to be so young. And in some ways, I still am.


I hope these stories helped you lot understand me, or at least my growing mindset, better.

Sort:  

The "sorry" story is about social rituals. As teens, we tend to question them often, but as we grow up we see their value as automated interactions our brain likes.

Oh, it's not exactly that I questioned it, I just thought that in this case it wasn't necessary.

The ritual of saying sorry when it's unclear you are feeling sorry was always understandable :3

Praying Mantis - a protected species, these days!
you - you - you Villain
In my depraved childhood on a farm in Midwest USA, I would behead flies and grasshoppers, but they were ubiquitous (and not likely ever to become endangered species)
Nobody I knew would dare behead a mantis
And to think I upvoted and resteemed this post without stopping to think about what a terrible, horrible, evil person you must be, not just to behead the noble mantis, but to pose him with his head in his praying hands.
Never speak to this man again!
(No fair calling me out on the tomato horn worms I've fried and eaten. They had it coming. And they are not scarce. They are far too numerous. Never mind that they hatch into giant moths. Those eat garden stuff, too.) Me Good. Geekorner Bad.

LOL!!!
The lamp!
Must not tell the story of my husband on his childhood farm, in Nebraska, and the electrocution of grasshoppers

I was curious.

These days I just observe the praying mantises that find their way into my house, watching them sway, trying to trick me.

I also remember when I had to take care of a friend's lizard, finding it grasshoppers and flies. I did once feed it a praying mantis, which kept it full for 3 days.

Ah, to be young, and think of the world only in terms of what you can put your grubby hands on.

Lol! Oh the "sorry" one. That's great. It makes perfect sense to me as a person who has to very carefully remind herself to observe social niceties.

You too, Jess? You've MASTERED the social niceties!
I'm the one who forgets to preface a comment with, "Now, this is just my opinion, so take it or leave it, but..."
I mean we are ADULTS; why do I need to state the obvious...
To keep doors from slamming in my face

It's one thing to offend because one chooses to not observe a nicety, another because you just didn't realize you're hurting someone. That feels terrible.

But this is probably my most perfect example of negotiating social contract, not that I did not understand, but did not agree? Hm.

I wanted to ask you about your tennis teacher, he knew?

I mean, he looked at me like I'm crazy after, but I did explain to him, so he clearly knew. Clearly.

A rhetorical question, you wrote it a few times, that's why I'm asking :)

I know, I was joking along :)

I was a very inquisitive child.

This sounds like a bit of an understatement after the rest of the stories. Love this insight!

I'm glad this post served its dual-purpose!

I felt the 5 facts was a bit too heavy, and that I still had a lot to share. Glad you liked it :)

I can relate, when child I created a gas chamber for ants and other small insects :->

Children are monsters. The question is whether we grow out of it, or just learn to hide it better.

I can say that I was seriously curious about life and death.. something that we tend to loose.

Hey! This is EXACTLY what it means:
"You're special - just like everyone else, meaning, not at all."
You mean I've misunderstood it all these years?
No, no, YOU are the one who is wrong.
It means "nobody is special" - I defy you to prove me wrong!

There's a reason "Eats, Shoots, and Leaves," is such a great book. Because communication is such a wonderfully messy thing.

Story composition is good.

Oh my gosh! You remind me SOOOO much of my son @knightengale so much! He was always so curious about everything. He was curious about the whole electricity thing, but instead of electrocuting himself, he got his brother to do it!

It was an adventure to raise a boy like this!

I loved reading your post and learning more about you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58625.96
ETH 3101.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41