You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Three "That's So Guy!" Stories

in #blog7 years ago

Praying Mantis - a protected species, these days!
you - you - you Villain
In my depraved childhood on a farm in Midwest USA, I would behead flies and grasshoppers, but they were ubiquitous (and not likely ever to become endangered species)
Nobody I knew would dare behead a mantis
And to think I upvoted and resteemed this post without stopping to think about what a terrible, horrible, evil person you must be, not just to behead the noble mantis, but to pose him with his head in his praying hands.
Never speak to this man again!
(No fair calling me out on the tomato horn worms I've fried and eaten. They had it coming. And they are not scarce. They are far too numerous. Never mind that they hatch into giant moths. Those eat garden stuff, too.) Me Good. Geekorner Bad.

Sort:  

LOL!!!
The lamp!
Must not tell the story of my husband on his childhood farm, in Nebraska, and the electrocution of grasshoppers

I was curious.

These days I just observe the praying mantises that find their way into my house, watching them sway, trying to trick me.

I also remember when I had to take care of a friend's lizard, finding it grasshoppers and flies. I did once feed it a praying mantis, which kept it full for 3 days.

Ah, to be young, and think of the world only in terms of what you can put your grubby hands on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 54657.34
ETH 2331.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.14