It's rare but it happens - A nice Surprise in the mail.

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

Starting the day on the wrong foot

It's 9am. I woke up 10 minutes ago and I didn't sleep enough. I'm in the midst of making myself the much needed coffee when my phone suddenly rings... I usually don't get calls at this time of the night, so this couldn't be good.

It's some woman from the health insurance company that's making my life complicated again, all while the milk for my caffè latte starts burning on the stove.

What a wonderful way to start the day. Maybe next I'll break my pinkie toe by tripping over the chair and spill my second attempt at coffee whilst doing so?! But no, this isn't a slapstick movie, this is real life. I'll just go down to the mailbox, that's always a good chance for more serious unpleasant news.

But not today.

It's rare but it happens - a nice surprise in the mail.

If you're having a bad day, just order some #marty-mail.

Seeing this bulging envelope sticking out of my mailbox, though, I immediately knew what it was. I think I actually made a well audible "squeak" before I rushed back up the stairs to grab my camera in order to document this special moment. Yeah, I don't know why I was thinking a photo of an envelop sticking out of my mailbox would be interesting, the excitement must have gotten me a bit carried away.

I had won @marty-art's steembay-auction a few days ago so I knew something was on the way. But I was still feeling slightly upset over the phone call and the burnt milk, so it was definitely the last thing on my mind right then.

Time to let you Marvel at Maarten's amazing Art

Of course I opened the envelope immediately. I had won the auction for a single 24x30cm oil on canvas original by Maarten, winning the auction also entitled me to complete the name of this pieces. I chose: "Dreaming of Niflheim".

That name goes back to another one of @marty-art's great interactive stories which he creates on steemit and which I participated in with great fun. You can read a good part of the saga here: Interactive Painting Contest Recap.

But now, let's finally see what I got:

Lucius & Dreaming of Niflheim - by @marty-art

Woah... Two paintings... Now I really didn't expect that! Maarten included a surprise in the surprise... On the left, that's "Lucius" whom I had the chance to name in yet another one of Maarten's awesome interactive installations. On the right, you see "Dreaming of Niflheim".

Lucius & Dreaming of Niflheim - by @marty-art - back

Ok. It's official, this day started like shit but it just became super awesome. But there was still something missing here. I know Maarten is a fan and supporter of the #GooglyPrize and he knows that I am totally crazy... about #GooglyEyes. Call me an entitled douchebag, but while I didn't expect a free extra painting, I did expect some Googlies in the package.

I didn't find them immediately and I almost felt a tingle of disappointment creep up for a moment, but @marty-art wouldn't let me down, would he?! NO, he wouldn't!

Dreaming of Niflheim - including #GooglyEyes by @marty-art

I'm speechless Maarten! Your blog is one of my absolute favourites on steemit and I am incredibly proud to have a piece (well two) of your original art and my personal steemit history to hang on the wall... and you gave me one of your original Googlies, too. I'm stoked man, I really am!

I put the pictures on the wall in my living room, not sure if that's going to be their permanent home, but they fit in quite nicely right there, I think:

Lucius & Dreaming of Niflheim - by @marty-art - in my living room

And seriously, everyone, you should check out @marty-art's 100% pure awesome steemit blog. He's got plenty more where these came from and he hosts the best interactive art installations known on this platform.

stay googly my friends,
@fraenk


because steemit is more fun with @marty-art

follow @fraenk

... it's free!
fraenk avatar
fraenk loves you!

Sort:  

Oh awesome!!!! He even put the Google’s in awwwww so good! They look beautiful in your living room. Love how you spaced everything on the wall and it’s kinda offset with the awesome pile of books on the table (love a good pile of books) hahaha now you can never move them in order to keep the balance of the art wall 😆

hahaha... I'll admit I did rearrange those books a little to compliment the framing... it usually looks a lot messier in that corner :P

hahahahahah! gotcha! XD
nothing against a good mess though. I'm of the chaotic persuasion myself lol

Hehe squeeke! Aw that's awesome! I'll have to check him out those are nice paintings. Lol the added little googly eyes those are cute. Glad you had something to uplift your day @fraenk : )

Yeah, check him out... his posts are a weird usually surreal and absurd tale of interactive fun.

Definitely made for a good u-turn in my morning mood. Actually the whole day was a blast after that :D

That's great to hear!!! Oooo I enjoy weird and unusual. Ah man, I'd be irate had someone messed up my coffee! However, fortunately for me, before my first cup of coffee of the day, I don't even know what a phone is, or where I am, or what my name is lol (jk)

hahaha... i hear you :P

Awesome! Glad to see #marty-mail (haha) made your day :D

And glad you're really happy with them! Thanks for the extensive photographic records provided - I always like to see where my paintings arrive (never seen them sticking out of a mailbox like that, though!)

Much appreciated, cheers, man!

Yeah... I'm glad it didn't pour down heavy rain that day... that could have been a major bummer and could have made the day potentially much worse than it had started already...

Love them on my wall, I like them even more with every moment I see them there! The misty blend of colors and the faces really "pop" out at night when the lights are dim. Amaze balls!

I feel really proud to have them there and I can't wait to show them to everyone coming over for a visit!

Great! :) Yeah, the mood can change alot, depending on the lighting.
Thanks again for the thumbs up, now I feel proud as well! And you have some (albeit weird) stories to tell about them to your visitors :)

hahaha, yes... they'll make an awesome conversation piece... who knows, maybe I'll finally get some of my crypto-ignorant friends to look into this thing called steem ;)

and yes... even after thousands of percents in gains (I started shilling for BTC in 2013) most of my peers are still ignorant to this stuff.

At a family-gathering around New Year's, BTC and crypto was mentioned in the conversation and automatically seen as criminal, maffiabusiness. One article in a magazine had made them think so.

I went to see if the kids were behaving.

Your wall looks good, good acquisition @fraenk

@fraenk... I'm hoping for that blessed day

@marty-art thumbs up

@fraenk - Your story has made us so emotional, but I'll let Oprah show you!

Source: GIF

Congrats on your win, mate. Will check out your entry. It must really be awesome to have deserved such a wonderful prize. Tha ks for stopping by my blog as well. Who knew I was talking to a big winner. See you around here. Hope you win more contests

I think you misunderstood... i won an auction for this image ;)

#steembay - like ebay light for steemit

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by fraenk from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

wow that's so cool! and also very lucky that the mailman didn't spoil the painting :D

yeah, i was a bit worried for a second when I saw it sticking out, too.... but the excitement definitely had the upper hand and luckily they arrived in perfect shape.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56834.19
ETH 2500.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27