You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How the Crisis has Changed Venezuela: The Rise of Nepotism

in #blog7 years ago

I am surprised that no one has said anything yet. There are homeless people everywhere and the reason being should be expressed from where they come from.
Where I am from, the best place to work is at the mines. That's where you can get the best salary here. When my husband applied to work at a mine, it took him 1 year to get in, bringing his CV once a week. Hoping that one day when they need someone, they would fall upon his.
He started in the core shack, taking core samples for gold. Underground is where the money is at. He was only able to get down there in good time because he knew the people there and they wanted him in.
It is all about connections, knowing the right people but its not always a good thing.
Working underground is a dangerous place. Always have to be careful, thorough and diligent. Some people down there don't belong there as they are not careful, play on their phones, take naps and even smoke weed and whatever in the tunnels. People's lives are at steak... Those people should not be down there. But they are cause they know people.
My husband now works at a different mine and is a little better for some things but I have the feeling that once this mine really takes off, as it is fairly new, that it will be the same with time.
The rest of us, we work a grocery stores, restaurants, banks - if you can get in, small clothing stores, dollar stores etc. minimum wage paying jobs. Always trying to find ways to make an extra dollar.
On my behalf, I am a sahm, but to pick up on the extra $$ that we need, I help out my mom at her restaurant, I am also a baker, I crochet and try to sell those every now and then when there is time.
On the upside, when it is summer I try and grow food. Saves on groceries.
That's what its like here. People try to sell their hobbies in order to make a little extra cash.

Sort:  

It sounds like a really dangerous job. In Bolivar, a state southeast of Venezuela, there are many miner cities, one of which is called El Callao (the silent one). There, mining is also the best paying job, and everybody's got family who works in the mines. They just get a group of people and they go to the mines. It's not an employment as far as I'm told. If they have the knowledge or the equipment or they have friends with the knowledge and the equipment, they can go there. They use very heavy stuff and it's extremely dangerous.

But the most dangerous part is that, in the end, when they are taking their loot, there are gangs that "guard" the mines. They have to give something like 85% of what they got to those gangs and they get to keep the rest and sell it. It's still awesomely profitable, but the crime situation makes up for an extra risk that no one in my family would want to take if we lived there.

I had to look up "Sahm" :P

How is Steemit working for you in terms of extra income?

Ya SAHM lol , stay at home mom lol.

That has got to be the weirdest and most horrible way to fun a mine, that I have ever heard! Thats insane!

As for Steemit... Im not quite there yet for making an income. I still try to find my niche, and the things I think that I could write about I have to wait till spring for taking the right pictures. Just a time game I guess.

Lol, I just use pixabay.com and write quick stuff to share lol. My main "income" (still too low) is commenting eeeverywhere. I don't want to spend too much time per post. I've seen people who spend a whole week per post and it doesn't fit the model I strategized. The effort to be put into posting vs. comments is debatable, of course, but this is the way I chose, and it's bound to change if I find a better way.

I comment more as well but sometimes I just don't know what to say anymore. Gotta take a break once in a while to refresh my brain lol Also my voting power lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62108.99
ETH 2429.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64