URI: The Surgical Strike

in #blog5 years ago

I have immense respect for the armed forces anywhere in the world. It's a grueling task to man our borders. Uri, the film is one of the best movies of this year. It's not hard to separate facts from fiction in this movie. But it packs a punch and certainly inspires you to cheer for the Indian armed forces.

uri-poster.jpg

If you are from India I totally recommend you the movie but also be prepared to acknowledge the facts from fiction. Hyper-nationalists will find posts like this hard to digest but it's also important to accepts the facts when presented to you Ex-Uri Brigade Commander.

I also have a great interest in the Kashmir and Ladakh region. Even as a movie-goer I generally try to remain objective. I don't watch many Bollywood-masala movies with mind-numbing stories and prefer a movie with a solid script that makes me want to dig deeper into the plot when I come back home.

All things considered, Uri is certainly filled with a ton of propaganda, jingoism, family drama, plot issues and inaccuracies and yet is a fantastic entertainer. It has got many things right as well as wrong. However, I wish the cinematography was better and close fight sequences weren't so shaky which would've improved the viewing experience even more.

Certain army operation details are out of bounds and this too is a fact. Therefore, bollywood takes liberty to exaggerate a few things to make it highly engaging and entertaining. That's what movies are supposed to be, aren't they?

On a side note, I loved the music of the movie. Especially Challa, Behe Chala and Jagga Jiteya. Excellent work there as well.

Whatever said and done, this is one of the best Hindi movies about Indian army operations in a long long time. Throughout the movie I thought about some friends I have posted in the border areas (both North-east and Kashmir areas) and their job is never easy. Everytime I get to catch up with them I am in awe and admiration of their duty. I make it a point to thank them for their sacrifices towards our nation.

In an ideal world, we wouldn't need borders and armies to protect them. But in the real world as we know it we do!

Go watch Uri. Despite some of its flaws it's a freaking good movie.

Salute to the armed forces. Jai Hind!


If you like my work kindly resteem it to your friends. You may also continue reading my recent posts which might interest you:

  1. Why You Should Vote For Firepower As Witness—Witness Campaign Post From India!
  2. Steem.Chat Contest #61

Follow Me: @firepower

Sort:  

Wow,its a great film based on reality.Thanks you had shared it on here, I have also great respect for armed forces, who have been sacrificing their lives every now and than ,for the protection of the people and its sovereignty of our country.Thanks, you have given us the chance to enjoy it dear.

You should watch it if you get a chance. :)

My maternal grand father was in army and so were my grand father's brothers. I have many relatives who work in armed forces, police etc. Some of them even had received gallantry awards. The job of army is very difficult. They also help civilians during the crises. Salute to them.
Certainly this movie is good enough to watch. I'll go with my family to watch it. Thank you dear.

That's amazing. Thank you for sharing it with me. :)
I just came back with a third screening with my mom haha. My friends pulled me twice already before that. Like I said, despite some technical flaws it's an excellent movie. Go for it.

So this weekend I have a great movie to watch. Will go for sure.

Worth every penny! Go for it!

I am planning to watch this movie on this Sunday with my family i am too excited for that.....

Posted using Partiko Android

You will like it minus the propaganda. :)

Not only the movie, but I believe the entire real strike is worth praising. Though I have not seen it but I think is about the surgical strike......reel or real....the movie is for sure worth watching

Posted using Partiko Android

I've seen it thrice now thanks to my friends and just came back after watching it with my mom haha!

Ahh....I do not have any theatre ...nearby...so wondering to visit town some day...

Posted using Partiko Android

Great movie every Indian should watch.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sir, I also salute our Indian army force.
Uri film I will surely watch the movie.
Thanks for sharing.

Posted using Partiko Android

Go for it! :)

What about the movie "The Accidental Prime-Minister". I am surely going to watch "URI".

100% propaganda movie that's totally worth missing out on. Don't waste your money on the accidental prime minister for now.

Hotel Mumbai will be another one

I'm a bit skeptical about that as it looks like it's glorifying the white man from the trailer. I will watch it though!

Hi sir, watched URI, an ultimate movie keeps you glued to the screen, excellent screen play. And you have wonderful information notes appearing on the screen.
All Indians already know the story, but it's so carrying when you see it on screen. Congrats to the team and the debu director

Posted using Partiko Android

I really liked the little details as you described above also that the movie was broken down into chapters. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94