Surf The Web Like It's The 1990s

in #blog5 years ago (edited)

If you are like me wondering what it was like to surf the web in 1990 then you can find out now. CERN has rebuilt the world's first web browser. Sir Tim Berners-Lee created the first browser using Objective-C, first known as the WorldWideWeb and later Nexus.

Screen Shot 2019-02-20 at 7.40.41 AM.png

It was built in December 1990 on a NeXT machine at The European Organization for Nuclear Research (known as CERN) just outside of Geneva.

In February 2019, in celebration of the thirtieth anniversary of the development of WorldWideWeb, a group of developers and designers convened at CERN to rebuild the original browser within a contemporary browser, allowing users around the world to experience the rather humble origins of this transformative technology.

You can find more information about the project and instructions to use the browser here: https://worldwideweb.cern.ch/ or you can log-on directly here

In the 1990s during the earliest days of the web browser there was no images added on any web page, and ergo you won't find any videos, ad tracking codes or CSS. Infact CSS was invented much later in 1996 while Javascript came to be in 1995.

The first time I got on the internet was probably around early 1996 at one of the two or three computer classes in town. Infact the internet was so slow I was barely able to use it do anything. Infact a VSNL was the first provider of dial-up internet in India in the 2nd half of 1995 and suffice to say I don't miss those days.

CERN has rebuilt the original browser to be used inside a modern browser such as chrome. I tried loading Steemit.com but it didn't work for me. Although it did open Google.

Try it out yourselves to get a feel of what vintage internet browsing was all about! Maybe you'll find greater appreciation for the current times.


If you like my work kindly resteem it to your friends. You may also continue reading my recent posts which might interest you:

  1. Why You Should Vote For Firepower As Witness—Witness Campaign Post From India!
  2. Steem.Chat Contest #66

Follow Me: @firepower

Sort:  

Knowledge / Conocimiento

I don't know why 1990 and ad-tracking in the same sentence made me laugh :)

I've No idea :D. But it's amusing how simpler those times were!

Posted using Partiko Android

My first encounter with a Computer was in 2001 when my computer teacher took us to lab and asked us to draw the picture of computer 😂😂😂

Posted using Partiko Android

I've never used it, but I sincerely don't miss it!! :D

You got a 53.57% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @firepower! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 24 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

I did not have internet but if I had computers and played counter strike, when I had it the thing was a bit strange. But he helped me a lot to study and especially to talk with my classmates. Computers were too big and slow

Hello
I know that you are a people of India, I and India people. And you are a good man. Please give me upvote my post.
Love India

https://steemit.com/india/@kretorkk/pulwama-terror-attack-condolence-to-the-martyred-family

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59708.78
ETH 3185.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45