You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 04/04/18> April 15th is a famous date not just because it tax day …

in #blog7 years ago

I actually did know about The Titan. (My hand was raised and waving frantically!!)

Years (and years!!) ago, one of my favorite television programs (in glorious black and white) was One Step Beyond. One of their programs featured the coincidences that happened surrounding the sinking of the Titanic -- including a minister who woke from a sound sleep and felt compelled to change the hymn scheduled for the Sunday service that day (April 14, 1912 was a Sunday.) to Eternal Father, Strong to Save, whose verses all end with these lyrics:

Oh, hear us when we cry to Thee,
For those in peril on the sea!

The coincidences involving this novel were also mentioned, but I hadn't heard any of the rest of it. J.P. Morgan was probably ruthless enough to do exactly as you suggest. After all, money was involved. Some of the other points you raise here are also intriguing to consider.

I thoroughly enjoyed this post. I'm a sucker for a mystery ... and other spooky connections.

Sort:  

I never saw the program you speak of, I actually read the book in high school as part of an English literature class. The minister story is very interesting as well. After reading that book, I always felt that it just was too very coincidental. Learning later about the Olympic, White Star Lines, and J.P. Morgan solidified my gut feeling that it was a deliberate sinking of the ship for multiple reasons, all of them to the benefit of old J.P. Morgan.
I'm glad you enjoyed this dose, and thank you for adding in with the minister.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 69527.07
ETH 2514.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55