Wheels from the past

in #blog6 years ago

maxresdefault (1).jpg

Image

Yesterday as I was walking my dog, I came across a young guy with roller blades. My heart paused for some seconds and memories rushed through my brain. When I was a kid I loved roller skating and the majority of the scars on my knees were caused by them. However I loved them so much! They used to give me a sense of freedom…

I started learning how to slide with roller skates which are way more difficult than roller blades. Those four wheels -setup sort of like a car- give you zero control and since the break is in front you can imagine how many times I fell on my knees while trying to slow down or stop. But I never gave up. I wanted to master them the best way that I could.

After many failed attempts and several tumbles I managed to reach a satisfying level in skating, a friend of mine came to my house with her brand new roller blades. What the hell is that? Why her’s have inline wheels? She made me try those on and I instantly fell in love with them. They were insanely easier and way cooler that mine -who looked like tiny cars tied on my feet.

Santa Claus who always knew what I wanted and never disappointed me, brought me those babies under my tree. I remember wearing them more than I was wearing my shoes. I loved them that much! I was the happiest kid on earth while I was roller skating. However at some point I had to give them away since my feet grew ridiculously bigger and the lack of free time didn’t allow me to get new…

Till yesterday I have never thought of buying a new pair. But I think I’m ready to start roller skating again. Since climbing is being postponed due to the thing with my shoulder, I have to find something else to give me the same -or almost the same- excitement!

Sort:  

προσεξε πολυ γιατι μια πιθανη βουτια με τα rollers μπορει να σου κοστισει πολυ....το γεγονος οτι θα γινει αποτομη συσπαση στην περιοχη της ωμοπλατης με το πεσιμο εννοω...και ειναι πολυ πιθανη μια πτωση...γιατι δε καθεσαι ησυχη @eliakon ???

Αυτό ισχύει.. Αλλά για κάποιο λόγο πραγματικά δεν μπορώ να κάτσω ήσυχη :PP

Μην ακούς κανέναν,πάρε ένα ζευγάρι και ξεκίνα.Την αίσθηση που σου δίνουνε τα extreme sports δεν στην δίνει τίποτα άλλο.

Συμφωνώ τόσο πολύ... Και μου έχει λέιψει αυτή η αίσθηση όσο καιρό απέχω από την αναρρίχηση..

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63550.59
ETH 2644.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81