The most disturbing thing I have ever watched

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

McKAmey-Manor.jpg

Image

Yesterday I finished a documentary series I was watching on Netflix, called "Dark Tourist". David Farrier a journalist from New Zealand visits unusual and macabre tourist spots around the world. It was really interesting as I wasn't even aware of the "Dark Tourism" term. As I found out it involves travel to places historically associated with death and tragedy.

Somehow -and I honestly cannot think of a good reason- people are usually attracted to anything related to death, mystery and tragedy. Maybe it's out of curiosity. I'm not sure. I want to believe that curiosity was what allured me to watch this documentary though.

I don't want to say much about the documentary as some of you may want to watch it yourselves. However two things really drew my attention. Both related to complete and total nonsense if you want my opinion. The first one was that this weird but otherwise cool guy decided to swim in a lake in Kazakhstan formed by a nuclear blast. Well, I obviously don't have a clue of what he was thinking at that moment but anyways.

The second one really traumatised me. I mean REALLY. He visited a "haunted house" -which in fact you WISH it would really be haunted. But it's not. It is called "Mckamey Manor", founded by Russ McKamey and originally located on his property in California. What it really is, is torture on demand. It is known for its violence and cruelty towards its guests, who must sign a liability waiver to get in. The Manor may drench the guests in fake blood, submerge them in water, force them to eat and drink unknown substances, have them bound and gagged or engage in other forms of emotional or psychological torture. The "master mind" of this s*it, mr McKamey claims that you're not gonna die, but undoubtedly you will leave the house with bruises or even with broken bones! SERIOUSLY??? Additionally he prefers the guests dressed in onesies -you FREAK.

The tour can last from four to eight hours but no guest has made it all the way through. Hopefully there is a safe phrase that can give an end to this hideous experience. The house operates year round, and there is a waiting list of over 24,000 people!!! I didn't know that masochists are that many to be honest. And I'm not judging, different people, different tastes. I'm only trying to comprehend the whole situation.

The "funny" thing about it is that there is no entrance fee. Instead, McKamey accepts payment only in dog food for his pets. This by itself gives more credit to my thought. It is an open sadist and masochist game in which everyone is satisfied. Otherwise I cannot thing of a single reason to go to that place. Who wants to be beaten and undergo all that emotional and physical torture??? Adrenaline junkies exist, but they do extreme sports, jump off a bridge, take a roller-coaster ride, NOT this.

I could share a youtube video to watch yourselves what I'm talking about, but I think it is really disturbing and I don't even want to include one in my post.

If you have ANY curiosity you can visit his site here or search it in youtube.

Sort:  

Please allow me to recommend this movie to you:

The Game (1997 film)
1997 film directed by David Fincher
The Game is a 1997 American mystery thriller film directed by David Fincher, starring Michael Douglas and Sean Penn, and produced by Propaganda Films and PolyGram Filmed Entertainment. It tells the story of a wealthy investment banker who is given a mysterious gift: participation in a game that integrates in strange ways with his everyday life. As the lines between the banker's real life and the game become more uncertain, hints of a large conspiracy become apparent.The Game was well received by critics like Roger Ebert and major periodicals like The New York Times, but had middling box-office returns compared to the success of Fincher's previous film, Seven. Wikipedia

Thank you so much @onceuponatime!! I will watch it ASAP!! :)) Sounds very interesting! :)

Δεν έχεις εφιάλτες??

Δεν ξέρω κι εγώ πως κοιμήθηκα μετά από αυτή τη βλακεία!! Ο τύπος είναι ψυχάκιας.

Κι εγώ δε μπορώ να κοιμηθώ μετά από τέτοια έργα…

Θα τα καταφέρεις την Τέταρτη να έρθεις???

Τι ώρα έχετε πει την Τετάρτη Νίκο??

17.30 στην Εκκλησία της Καπνικαρεας!!! :))
Αύριο είναι... :))

Θα χρειαστεί να πάω Κινέτα το πρωί γιατί έχουμε ένα θέμα με το σπίτι.. Ελπίζω να προλάβω και να είμαι εκεί στις 5.30!! :)

οκ..ελπίζω να πάνε όλα καλά με το σπίτι... μιλάμε αύριο !!! :)))

Να σαι καλά Νίκο μου! Έγινε τα λέμε αύριο!! :))

That torture house sounds like a lot of fun! I'm in! Let's go! Next year's SteemFest should be in that house! maybe we could fix some of the bot abusers and shit posters :P

hahaha OH YEAH LETS GO!! #not :PPP

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62938.05
ETH 2552.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63