You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Homeless Pretenders.

in #blog7 years ago

There are many fields that if you have the passion and self motivation to learn that I think is actually dumb to go to college for them.

Why? Because, as you indicated it is all out there easily available on the internet to learn. In fact you can learn it faster, and there is a good chance you might be more cutting edge than most college classes.

If you are not self motivated or lack the discipline to force yourself to do this then it can be a challenge. That is why it is so important to find some interest that you are passionate about and enjoy.

College courses that let you train on equipment you otherwise would not have access to or be able to afford are the types of courses I think it is still worth taking. Most other ones in this day and age and the level of access to information we have I believe are a waste.

Sort:  

I agree completely. We need some sort of "open exams", where people only need to prove they have the skill/knowledge to pass. The way you get this knowledge and skill is your very decision, you should be able to get help from training courses, seminars etc. but it should not be mandatory to take them.

I agree. I also don't like people being called "Scientists" if they don't follow the scientific method. Going to school and getting a degree that is based heavily on Scientific Principles but failing to follow the scientific method does not make someone a scientist.

Furthermore someone who rigorously follows the scientific method can be a "scientist" without having a degree.

I like the idea of being able to challenge exams. I had a negative experience with that in my youth. I challenged a course, got an A+ without having to take it, but they still charged me for it as though I took it, and it counted as 4 credits for that semester which limited how many classes I could take. So even though they didn't do a damn thing other than give me a test I had to pay for the full course, and they also wouldn't let me take other courses. So I couldn't actually get the degree faster. I could have challenged 75% of that degree in my youth (Computer Science), but I ceased trying to do that after that negative experience. I never did get that degree.

As somebody who loves math, I despise scientisis. They are content with things that are maybe true and paddle them like gods word.

That is the people using the label "scientist" but they are really not scientists. No reason to despise scientists... but feel free to despise the charlatans.

I touch upon that in this post:
https://steemit.com/cryptozoology/@dwinblood/off-the-beaten-path-for-me-let-s-talk-bigfoot-sasquatch-yeti-swamp-devil-etc-cryptozoology

So even though they didn't do a damn thing other than give me a test I had to pay for the full course, and they also wouldn't let me take other courses. So I couldn't actually get the degree faster. I could have challenged 75% of that degree in my youth (Computer Science), but I ceased trying to do that after that negative experience. I never did get that degree.

My negative experience comes from elementary through middle school. I was always much faster in math than everyone else, well in the final years in highschool I had the advanced course in math(LK) and most of the guys in class were really good, so I was rather middle of the pack compared to them. But the only thing being good in math got me was trouble cause I would never do my homework.. Why would I train the basics of a method, when I can solve the advanced applications without a sweat?

I was pretty good at math too. Though I was not a very good traditional student. I was always doing my own thing.

Though one of my kids was brilliant at math and school actually damaged his mathematical ability by trying to force him into a mold.

Here is something I wrote about that 10 months ago.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@dwinblood/my-way-is-right-your-way-is-wrong

aight, i need to do some shores, will read some @dwinnblood in between, so we got some new ammunition. ;) Talk to you later.

Wish I could resteem it... :( I was an apprentice teacher once and in every class there was 1 person that stood out and was really frustrated, the same as I was in school

It illustrates again to me the importance of remembering that we all think differently, and yet we often can still solve the same problems, and come to similar conclusions while walking a different path. I consider this a beautiful thing NOT to be squashed and I really wish they hadn't squashed it in my son and that they were not still squashing it in many other children.

That's exactly what I meant to say when I talked about liberaterianism once. I come from a very different viewpoint, but I do respect your ideology very much and find it in a way beatiful

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59020.94
ETH 2603.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44