Summary of the series, begun with the book Reborn

in #blog7 years ago (edited)



Book Cover created in watercolor by the extremely talented @therealpaul

First of all I'd like to give a great big Thank You to everyone who has been with me on the journey of my book Reborn. Your comments and encouragement as well as your votes mean more to me than I can adequately express. It's thrilling to have so many amazing people hanging out in the world of my imagination, experiencing the passion, love, and excitement that I feel for my creation.

For those of you who have not read it, but may be considering it, hopefully what I write here will help you to decide.

Something occurred to me recently, stemming from some conversations I've had with @jedau and @verbal-d. I never did write a "Back of the book Blurb" which is to say, I never let my readers know just exactly what this book was about before they began. And most importantly, I don't think I was clear that Reborn is actually the first book of a series, for which I have the second book completed and the third fully plotted and nearly half-written, and have begun plotting the fourth and fifth. I believe that it is going to be five in total, though I can't yet be sure of this.

In many ways Reborn is the setup for the series. I spent a great deal of time on character development in the first half, while only hinting at the overall plot of the story. Part of the reason for that was while it was in composition I didn't have a fully formed picture of where it would ultimately go, I only knew that the people in it would be important throughout.

I'm discovering that there is an art form to writing a summary of what will amount to a minimum of twenty five hundred pages. Of course each book will have smaller stories within the larger one, but it is the larger picture I will be focusing on in this blog.

The Shadow Men.
For those of you who have been reading, you are now aware that they are considered to be demons, and also that there is potentially different species of demons, from the common Jinn to the more powerful Dantalion, along with two more that have yet to be named.

The Vampires
Initially created to be warriors in the fight against demons, many of them have fallen from their duty, preying on the humans they had sworn to protect and killing those of their kind who have remained faithful to the cause.

The Allies of Old
Those who once banned together to fight the common enemy of the Shadow Men. Vampires, Faerians, humans, (and more to be revealed), engaged in battles and ultimately war with the creatures, and though we do not yet know the scope of this, we know they were victorious. But it has been many centuries since there was a real threat to this world, and in these modern times, most are oblivious to the danger lurking just beyond their perception.

But signs are beginning to appear that allude to this threat rising in power once more.

With the alliances largely broken and those still fighting the fight few and far between, mankind is on the precipice of a grave danger that could threaten their very existence.

At this point in the journey it looks bleak, with so few who are even aware of the darkness rising.
"You won't win, it's too late, there are two few of you faeries left, and no one left to aid you." .

And so it is of dire need for the Allies of Old to gather and ban together once more.

Ancient prophesies will soon begin to surface, of a unifying force initiated by the unlikeliest of beings.

As long as their is a light in the darkness, there is hope.



**

Well, that is my first official attempt at a summary for the series, you might call it a very rough draft as I will be working on perfecting it.

If you're just joining the adventure and would like to start at the beginning, click here for prologue



Generously created for me by @son-of-satire


Sort:  

Oooooo, it's always good to have a back of the book blurb! Top notch. You putting it as a link at the start of each one now? :0)

Hm, I hadn't thought of that, but that's a good idea, thanks!

I'm full of them, lol!!

FIVE books?!!! Wow. That's some fantastic work going into this. I've enjoyed reading even though my comments have not been too regular.

It's amazing being able to create an entire world with different characters in it. 😊

I'm glad you've enjoyed reading, and no worries about regular commenting! I get distracted too. Sometimes I get into a habit of giving people votes and then finally I get to actually reading what I voted on :)

This is a nice brief recap. It really captured the major factions within the story (and series) maybe you could write a companion series for your next book, a la SILVER LINING! :D If you're not able to do it per chapter, maybe for every 5 chapters. It'll be fun! Just like the fun we're having in our discussions on SILVER LINING! :D

That is definitely something to consider...when I'm sober, LOL! Have fun with my whiskey post tonight ;)

Excellent recap. That is impressive, five or more books to come out. Keep up the good work.

Why thank you! If I didn't keep it up, I'm not sure what I'd do with myself ;)

That's it! That's your series title - Allies of Old!!

Holy shit. Well, as long as I don't look it up and find it's already taken, but yeah, you're right, that's perfect!

Oh I love the backstory of this with summaries. Please continue this. I finally caught up to @jedau's entire novel and his silver lining series of breakdowns as well. Be sure to check my next post later on today. You'll know what I'm talking about when I do :) I look forward to the introduction of more characters from you how exciting. and 5 books is the best news ever. I hope the Shadow Man-Dala beat has helped you with some inspired scenes with the third installment.

I will be checking out your page shortly! Absolutely the shadow man-dala has been awesome inspiration!

That's wonderful to hear my dear friend, I'm so glad it's been an inspiration for your writing process. Thanks for checking my page. I have just added you on FB and commented and liked a photo of your daughter and son I believe.

That's my step son Josh and his brother's wife-my step daughter in law Kimmy :) We're only about a little over ten years a part, so in many ways they are more like my little brother and sister. Kimmy and Will started dating when they were barely sixteen, now they have twin seven year old girls and a four year old boy :)

EDIT: The funniest part is that I put those captions on that photo when I was learning to make a meme for papa pepper's first wild and strange contest. I had only been on steemit for ten days at the time!

Haha nice, beautiful blessing to have twins and three children total at that! That's actually very cool. @papa-pepper holds some pretty cool contests indeed. PS I have read your last two chapters just haven't had the time to comment. But I shall soon.

Thanks for this, it's nice to know some of the things that the characters know, even though I was already involved in the story without a back cover, this describes the story that I've been reading, without saying too much. I really like the story, the way it's leading, and I can never predict what will happen next.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62419.28
ETH 2628.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56