You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Everyone is Freakin’ Triggered These Days

in #blog6 years ago

People get outraged about everything. It's funny, but also sad. I'm trying very hard to keep my kids from going down that road, but it seems to be the way a lot of their peers act now. It's easier to be angry than patient and compassionate.

Sort:  

Oh that's a tough situation, I have no idea how I would do if I were in your shoes.

For kids and teenagers it's always easy to follow their peers.. Maybe we need a lot of trending visual content that speaks to the new generation in a funny or entertaining way and makes them see how anger and outrage is not worth it.

Most of the time, kids are great, far more understanding than most adults. My kids are better than my generation or the ones before in terms of accepting everyone for who they are, not caring at all about skin color, religion, background, etc. In that way, I think they have a built-in sensitivity and openness to learning from people with different backgrounds and opinions, which should serve them well in life. But then I see one of them totally flip out, blaming others, when someone interrupts them or they can't find something they need. Maybe it's just the age, but I sense that some of the impatience and entitlement in the culture rubs off on them.

You know, if you ever wrote some posts about parenting I would save that for sure, as I would need a lot of advice if I'm a parent some day.

Culture rubs off on everybody, and you certainly did a great job to get your kids to be open minded at a very young age. I don't know how you did it, maybe there's a lot of work involved, I don't know... But these things are stuff I would like to learn a lot about actually.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55336.50
ETH 2312.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33