Heads Up: If you are new, Think about Steemit like this....

in #blog7 years ago

You are the conductor of your own steemit train.


conductor.jpg

wavy lines.png

Recently, I have come across many posts from minnows trying to figure it all out. So try to think of steemit like this...
Your account is your train. If you are a good conductor then your train is going to go somewhere. If you are a bad conductor then you will not go far. What I mean by that is what every newbie post tells you...

Post quality content!


If you are feeding your train engine garbage, then your train is not going to get out of the station. If you copy and paste youtube videos...you didn't do anything. If you made your own video, then you did and that is quality content. If you like a steemians post, then resteem it! If you copy and paste it....You look like a thief. Understand?
Give credit on your images, videos, songs, or art that you did not do yourself.
clean.png

Beware of Villains!


The more steemit grows, The more villains appear. Keep your password in multiple places and never give it to any random pop up window.

BW Snidley..jpg........train logs.gif

I have seen multiple phishing scams happening and people are falling for it. Their account gets taken over to advertise the scam the next day. Be careful.
If you see any wrong doing on steemit my advice would be to visit the SteemCleaners.linkdrop channel

  1. On the right hand side menu there is a pinned messages icon. Click that.
  2. The top message is the reporting form. Fill that out.

This is one of the best ways to bring the attention of abuse to someone who can do something.

clean.png

It takes Time


Be patient with your posts. Not every post is going to make money. However, if your followers know that you have something interesting to say in your posts..Then you will begin moving in the right direction. If your followers know that you just copy and paste from reddit, then you will lose your followers and any momentum. It is all about what you put into it. That is what makes Steemit great.
So for new people to steemit, I hope my analogy makes some sense to you.
Don't ask "Why am I not getting upvotes or comments!?"

^^^ I just explained it ^^^


train-giphy-(2).gif

All images are commercial use google images
Gifs from giphy

As always....

Keep Being Cool Steemit


doctorcrypto.gif

Sort:  

Oh you are from pdx!! Nice!

Yes, are you close by?

Not currently. Im from Oregon and PDX is my citt that I claim. Some day I'll go back.....

@doctorcrypto - well done post, I really like your analogy, it is simple and makes perfect sense to me. @cryptobk

New to posting on Steemit myself and this seems like very good advice @doctorcrypto, thank you for posting this.

If you have any questions, don't hesitate to ask. :)

A great analogy and sound suggestions.

I cant speak for others but I get frustrated when I see my feed with nothing but youtube videos. I mean, once in a while, if someone posts something interesting, okay. But it is all the time with some people. I started to cull those people out yet it appears on the new board too.

We get out what we put into it....that is the one thing I learned here the past month.

Most definitely!

Worse than a pasted you tube video is the pasted stolen photo or article with no credit. At least with a youtube video it is fairly easy to see that it is not theirs. Photos are a bit more tricky. Reverse image search comes in handy.
Yes I mute folks. They are mainly the ones who post a daily bible verse.

Good points, it's seems counterintuitive to think that people using a website based on cryptocurrency wouldn't observe solid security practices. But it's easy to be fooled when the threats are relentless.

Yes it is unfortunate that people would rather spend their energy trying to beat a system instead of being a part of that.

Im taking this advice as a newbie and resteeming it. Quality for the long run!

You are correct. Quality for the long run. I like that.

Yes, makes a lot of sense. The only sentence i don't understand ( my lack of english ) is this - Their account gets taken over to advertise the scam the next day. what does it mean exactly?
Anyhow, thank you for this post, i hope i am doing well here on steemit.
But i am inspired to be even better.
Have a great day ! :-)
oh, and one more thing- about resteem . i am not sure about the benefit of it. also, when someone comes into my page he/she will see chaos. not MY "regular" content. especially if i am an artist. does it make sense? the page should be about me. i think. is that wrong thinking?

I am not an expert: I see accounts that are posting the scam... And then they get recovered. It is no longer the scammer but the original user. That leads me to believe that they where dumb enough to enter their password.

The benefit of resteem is that if you resteemit it early on and it makes a ton of money.... you get some of it. It is called curation rewards. There are a lot of steem folks who just curate.
Yes if you are correct. If some one comes to your page and you have resteemed posts then it is not true posts from you.
There is a tool and I cant remember what its called(if i wasn't tired i'd look it up)...but it blocks out resteemed posts so you only see true posts from a user. But that is where we are now with steeemit.

thank You again! :-)

As usual Doc, you produce well written and engaging content that makes visiting your blog worth being part of my daily Steemit checklist. Definitely resteeming and up voting this one.

Well thank you sir. I'm enjoying your stuff as well! Cheers.

good explaination.. i will have to manage my engine better. lol!! thanx!! tis is definietly "resteem" worthy

The basic idea is to tell new folks. Don't post crap. ;P

i think i am qguitly of that one... but.. its a learning process. no one ever jumps into something and is perfect, right?
even mozart hit some flat notes while learning

I have posts that I am not happy about in the beginning. It definitely is a learning process.
Thats why I'm trying to get the word out. Some folks think that copy/paste strategy is just fine....
Not on steemit.

HAHAHA!! right!!! "copy and paste" sounds like free time in kindergarten

Solid advice - maybe not anything earth shaking here but definitely worth repeating for new users. I think the last bullet point is maybe the most important for new users to internalize - of course posting original content is key, but even if you do post original content you aren't necessarily going to pull up into your destination station on day two, or even day 30.

Personally I would also advise focusing on building relationships with other users. Having trouble coming up with an awesome original content post? Try just browsing around for other awesome original posts by other users, giving them a read, and giving an honest comment in response. New users might actually be better served focusing on commenting as much or more as posting, as comments on trending post will be seen by a lot more eyes and (unfortunately) real honest comments can be rare and far between here on Steemit. Gain a reputation for leaving honest thoughtful comments and you will gain a following. It is also easier to earn payouts on comments for new users than by posting. Steemit is not a blogging platform - or at least, not exclusively. I think reminding new users that being an active participant in Steemit can mean more than just posting is a service. We need more folks reading content and leaving good comments, and less folks posting crap posts and spamming crap comments.

Cheers - Carl

So very true! I think I spend most of my time on steemit looking for good articles and interacting with the authors through comments. Most of my followers were gained through just leaving genuine comments. Like yours. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64197.36
ETH 3181.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49