You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Back To The Basics; A Case Of Lost Addiction And A Big Apology

in #blog7 years ago

The drive for extrinsic rewards such as money has a peculiar impact on creativity.

(I hope I just linked the right video, because I can't actually watch it to verify).

In general, extrinsic rewards cause us to narrow our focus on our target goals. This makes us perform better in straightforward, step by step tasks. However it results in poor performance in tasks which require creativity. To focus means to close off our minds to distraction, but creativity is served better by less focus, by a broader perspective.

The issues that result from extrinsic motivation are something that are a long term concern on Steem I think. However so far it has mostly worked out fine.

Sort:  

Wow. Thanks a lot for this. Yes it's the right video!

It's exactly what I had been going through. Creativity seems to not thrive in either a noisy environment or a confined one and as you said, focusing means we close our minds to other things which might distract us. This, in a way, is us putting ourselves in a box.

Excelling creatively requires a certain form of freedom; the opportunity to try out anything at anytime without restrictions.

I think for creatives, Steemit should be a place they come to, to show off (display) their works (finished products). There should always be time out for the art, where there are no restrictions.

What a way to start my day! Thank you so much.

I agree with what you say, but i'm not so sure that it applies to Steemit, since its creativity that reaps the rewards. Maybe it will actually nurture creativity.

The way I see it, creativity thrives (better) on freedom so if you have that freedom to do whatever without a certain target, you probably tend to do better. You can then come on Steemit to share whatever it is you've done. That's where the rewards come in.

That "time off" away from any confinement seems to be important.

The science I'm talking about shows that when you reward tasks which involve creativity, it reduces creativity and performance. I would expect it to very much apply.

I get what you are talking about..... it's psychology. I think it's similar to what @fisteganos is saying too. The mind is on the reward, which tends to be a distraction from optimum creativity because it's not free to roam, it's pivoted to the reward

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54370.47
ETH 2283.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33