I took 4 days off the internet and away from people.

in #blog7 years ago

Sometimes the world just gets me down, like I dare say it does you.

I have no internet at the farm, by choice, not by accident, and decided I wanted 3 days off of so called NORMAL.
I do not even have a working tv set at the farm, and that is also by choice, you see I live in several different places, apartments etc, though the farm for me is my get away from everything real.P1100879.JPG


Yesterday

was my first day of visitors, when my daughter came to ask why dad was not home, I explained dad needed a short break, then I spent 30 minutes riding around the fields on a motorbike with her, she screams fake screams of terror, like no other I have heard before, and even when it was time for her to go she was begging for more dad time, more motorbikes and fields.



The storks are back you see, all the way from Africa just to see me :-). The only thing I have for entertainment at the farm is motorbikes, hi-fi and my saxophone, and all of that is mighty fine by me.


Back for now.

I am back again, and catching up with sports results, I suppose the news will catch up with me, I am not going looking for it though. Can you do 3 days straight of NO internet and no tv? I know I can. And I know it can be very refreshing, as can sitting and cooking at a campfire late at night.

If you wondered where I was, now you know, (note) I have a habit of doing this in the summer months, I just take off, park the car, forget where I put the keys, and take 3 or 4 days off just for me. (selfish? much)

P1100895.JPG

This is the old gal we were messing around on, only 50cc and no gears, made in 1981, and restored by me last year.



Have a great week.

Deliberator = Definition of deliberator
plural -s
: one that deliberates

Sort:  

Cant blame you one bit! Sometimes you just need to get away ! I will say, Im a bit jealous though. I wish I had a place to just go and get away for 3 days. No people, no internet, no tv... Just the hubby, kiddo, me and good ol' nature. Glad you got a few minutes to yourself, Im sure it was much needed and happy to have you back! :D

It was refreshing, and I like the quiet also, all I could hear were birds tweeting, a few meows from the cats, and the music I played. I will be doing it again very soon, that is for certain. :-)

Sounds amazing! <3

We are living times when it is sometimes necessary to be a little offline and have some time for ourselves and for our lives. The internet is not everything. It's like a boost to our life, but it does not replace it.

I could not agree more, and the same goes for mobile phones, some people really do need to put them things down sometimes.

That's interesting. Here in Portugal that happens all the time. I go out with some friend or girlfriend and I only see people with her eyes on the smartphone. It's sad, because the subject of going out, it's to have a fun time with other people, not with the smartphone.

Exactly, and I see young people meet up for drinks and stare at their phones, not talking to each other, sad times.

We all need time away from the internet. It's both one of the best and worst things that happened to us as a society.

You have been upvoted by @rentmoney because your post was nominated by @t-miles in our Followers Appreciation Promotion

Superb thanks, and I agree.

Yes. I occasionally get on my motorcycle and be gone. I have written extensively on how NOT to be gone when traveling, but some of my favorite time is when I am not connected for days.

I love that you have the old Yammie up and running and in use. You are obviously my kind of guy.

Thanks for a wonderful post.

Thanks for the kind words, I added you to my following list.

Good for you!
More people should just take a break from life when it brings you down
🤗

Indeed my friend.

We definitely all need some of that time every once in a while. Don’t always wanna be glued to our phones, computers etc..

Hope the time away did wonders for you. Sounds as if you had 'fun' time with your daughter; more 'good' memories for her in the future.

Cheers bro. Indeed it did do wonders, though may take me a few days to come down, I drank a lot, and smoked loads also. :-)

Agree with you. Sometimes we need that to clear our minds. I pray God helps me to own a farm like that.

If you work hard my friend, you will get it, it is in your own hands.

Hi There! You have just been upvoted by @justinadams Witness. You will always recieve a free upvote on every post you make on steemit as long as you keep your witness vote. Thanks For Your Support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62753.87
ETH 2445.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67