A Beautiful Sublime Sunday At Spring Mill State Park's Pioneer Village

in #blog6 years ago

Spring Mill State Park.png

Today I am taking you a few steps back in time. I would like to say when life was simpler but I know their daily survival took a lot of work.

Hubby and I toured the Pioneer Village at Spring Mill State Park in Mitchell, Indiana.

Spring Mill State Park (1).png

There is a working Grist Mill and many other houses and buildings from the 1800s. This village was put together between the 1920s and 1930s. I can only imagine what life must have been like living in a village like this.

Spring Mill State Park (2).png

There are stumps made into chess boards, a huge public garden with a gorgeous arched entrance and sturdy fences made of stone.

The water system for the village was amazing. It splits between the Grist Mill and the stream that runs right through the village. We explored further to find out where it comes from.

Spring Mill State Park (4).png

We followed a beautiful path up the hill, only to find out we went up the wrong way but it all worked out. We were able to walk back down the other side and see just where this water comes from.

Spring Mill State Park (3).png

We found that the water flows right out of a cave system. The it gets filtered into the stream and or to the Flume which carries the water to the Grist Mill. The Grist Mill can control when water comes down the Flume.

Spring Mill State Park (5).png

I will leave you with some beautiful views from the area surrounding the Pioneer Village. I was so happy to finally enjoy Spring being in the air!

A big thank you to @ace108 for hosting the #beautifulsunday and to @c0ff33a for hosting the #sublimesunday tags each week!

If You Are Reading This, I Hope You Have An Awesome Day!

Photographs are owned by @debralee

My other social media's:
You Tube Vlog
You Tube Gaming
DTube
Twitter
Instagram
Clickasnap
debralee_blue.png

Sort:  

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Great post my dear!!! I love it!!

Glad to see that spring has finally sprung. It is awesome that the water flows from a cave system. Living a homesteaders life I think I can imagine how much work was involved since they did everything by hand. But in many ways, it was a simpler life, less stress like we have in today's society.

I can see how life would have been less stressful then and I bet people were happier too. I've seen a lack of pride in today's society, at least the type that comes from hard work and accomplishing something made from your hands.

Real nice spot to explore.

It is one of my favorites that we have been to.

Beautifully done Deb! I love the way you make a collage with your photos. You took some really nice shots too. Great post :)

Thank you so much @countrygirl!

Oh this place is so beautiful! I am definitely won't be able to live in that time since the work load itself will just kill me..It was a hard life, and I really am admired them..

I admire them too. I wonder what they would think of our modern world. My first guess is, they would be a little scared of some things.

amazing post dear with a wonderful photography

Love a little reminder like this that we should slow things down a bit :-)

Yes, its always good to slow down and enjoy nature to renew yourself. :)

Congratulations. You did good on this one. 😎

Thank you! :D

You're welcome

Wow, you are right about the hard work the laborers put in, but it is so beautiful and rustic looking. I posted photos of an old, abandoned mill town way back when I first started on steemit, which is where they filmed Katniss's hometown in Hunger Games. It definitely wasn't as green and bright as your photos. Your photos are amazing!

Thank you so much! I would love to see the one you were at. I may have to look that post up. :D

You're welcome! Here is the post, it's old, but if you want to see it: https://steemit.com/travel/@bosssarah/i-visited-hunger-games-district-12

This post has been deemed resteem & upvote worthy by your @ecs (eastcoaststeem) community leaders @chelsea88 & @inthenow

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60314.14
ETH 2890.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35