World-Famous Handguns: Colt 1873 Single Action Army Revolver

in #blog7 years ago

(Image source)

Have you ever wondered what type of handgun the people back during the days of the wild, wild West were using? The American Wild West was the historical setting for many popular cowboy movies.

The Colt Single Action Army which is also known as the Single Action Army, SAA, Model P, Peacemaker, M1873, and Colt .45 is a single action revolver with a revolving cylinder holding six bullets. It was made to compete for the U.S. government service revolver trials of 1872 by Colt's Patent Firearms Manufacturing Company (now known as today's Colt's Manufacturing Company) and was adopted as the standard military service revolver until the year 1892.

This firearm has been offered in over 30 different calibers and various barrel lengths. Its overall appearance has remained the same since mass manufacture in 1873. Colt has discontinued its production twice, but brought it back due to highly popular demand. The revolver was popular with people of the American Old West and was known worldwide as "The Gun That Won the West".

As of the early 21st century, models were mostly bought by collectors and by people involved in the theater and film business. Its design has influenced the production of numerous other models from other firearm manufacturing companies.

Informative Youtube video by the American Heroes Channel




Sources: https://tticalinak.files.wordpress.com/2015/08/colt-single-action-army-manual.pdf
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ColtSingleAction_Army


Follow me as @darthnava: “The Shark Side of the Horse is the pathway to many abilities some in Steemit consider to be… Unnatural.”

Sort:  

Thanks for this post. Question to you @darthnava If you were a collector of firearms , be it handgun or rifle, what would be your 1st choice?

Maybe a firearm that can easily be concealed in my wheelchair. :D

This comment has received a 13.52 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @darthnava.

Thanks @booster for up vote and my biggest payout yet. And my man @darthnava///

Bit of kick to them, but great fun to break cinder blocks with them at 40 yards!
K

That sounds fun!

I always enjoyed the irony of calling a gun a peacemaker. I guess if only one side survives, then there is peace.

Good insight.

I hope you are doing well @darthnava. Are you a gun collector?

Goodness, no. I just like to blog sometimes about military related stuff and history. Maybe I would be if I had lots of money to throw about.

And about my health, I am at home still recovering after spine surgery last month.


See your post mentioned here

Thanks a lot! I upvoted and followed!

@darthnava
It reminds me this colt gun!
http://supernatural.wikia.com/wiki/The_Colt

I am a craziest fan of that TV series! Thanks or sharing this useful information!

Damn, it looks bad-ass!

Bang...click...bang..click..bang...yes that is single action revolver. Nice posting :)

I don't support guns but a great post all the same @darthnava you got an upvote & resteem too. Thanks for the share.

Thanks a lot! I don't promote violence but I post about the tech and history behind it.

Heyy really nice post:) It was verry useful.Please check my little journey that I made soon. I hope you enjoy my photos. @nakedchef89

https://steemit.com/history/@nakedchef89/what-is-the-oldest-civilization-on-earth

woow sigueme

Nice one but cheetah bot says you copy pasted it.

Thanks for sharing. I like to know about Gun.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57959.67
ETH 2343.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44