Rifles That Changed Modern Warfare: Steyr AUG

in #blog7 years ago

(Image source)
(Image source)

Featured in many modern action movies as being used by villains and their henchmen, this rifle is awesome.

The first combat rifle with a futuristic look, the Steyr AUG A1(AUG meaning Armee-Universal-Gewehr or "universal army rifle") is an ambidextrous (meaning you can use with either left or right hands), selective-fire Austrian assault rifle, submachine gun, or light machine gun designed in the early 1970s by Steyr Mannlicher GmbH & Co KG. It uses the 5.56mm NATO cartridge as ammunition.

The assault rifle is made of fiberglass reinforced polymer. Because of this, the gun is really lightweight, weighing only around 7 pounds. The gun is capable of firing 680 to 750 rounds per minute and because of this it features an interchangeable barrel and replacement barrels of various lengths for various combat situations. The gun is a bullpup design, which means that the magazine is located on the butt of the gun behind the trigger. It also has a collapsible bipod mount so you can prop the gun up and shoot one handed, like a machine gun.

Although it may appear weird at first glance, the Steyr AUG’s design allows it to be disassembled in only seconds.

It was adopted by the Austrian Army as the StG 77 (Sturmgewehr 77) in 1978, where it replaced the 7.62mm StG 58 automatic rifle (a licence-built FN FAL). In production since 1978, it is the standard small arm of the Austrian armed forces and their national police units. The rifle and its variants have also been adopted by the armed forces of Argentina, Australia, Bolivia, Ecuador, Ireland, Luxembourg, Malaysia, New Zealand, Saudi Arabia, Tunisia, Pakistan, and the U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement agency.

Sort:  

Awesome assault weapon. Incredible capabilities. Deadly and exquisite. Having
one makes you ready for anything.

haha have not seen an FPS Russia video in ages! That guy is great!

Yes, his vids are short but sweet.

awesome ! I have been so busy and missing so many posts , im so glad to see your home now from the hospital ! Hope your recovery is going great ! Best of luck to you my friend , I love your posts and im glad your back !! Steem on ! 👍👍👍

Thanks, ma'am! Recovery is no holiday, either. I gotta take plenty of antibiotics which makes my stomach queasy and take plenty of rest.

oh im sure its no picnic at all ! I helped care for my mom and later my dad after their operations and it really took a lot out of them , I really hope you start feeling better soon ! Sending my prayers your way for a speedy recovery ! 👍💜💙😘

Ma'am, you are the best!!!

awe thanks ! Im positive you will really like this post by my son ! Heres the link if you get a chance to check it out his name on steemit is @gavinthegreat ! sorry if I all ready shared it with you my memory is not the greatest these days and he just joined so I have been trying to promote his stuff along with my other sons stuff who also just joined Matt @mmckersie ! https://steemit.com/history/@gavinthegreat/amazing-rare-collection-of-color-photos-from-the-second-world-war

Great. Upvoted and followed him as well!

that a awesome thanks ! I thought you would like his post ! 👍👍👍

Also, the top of the scope is at eyebrow height, and changing eye relief even slightly will wreck your grouping, so if your cheek is too far forward on the first squeeze, you're going to have to take four hits you know are coming, without flinching in anticipation. Good times.

Good points to consider!

Good memories, you make me remember when I was in the Canadian Army. Thanks for sharing.

@darthnava,
That would be a great article friend. Thank you very much for sharing this to the community! Really appreciate your effort and would like to suggest you to write an article about US military weapons and AK47 Russian rifle as well.

Cheers~

I love to post about something military related as my secret ambition was to be a defense analyst because of Tom Clancy's books and I dig history. We'll see if the post payouts are decent on this one.

From my experience, the Steemit community doesn't really like war-related stuff as it is full of anarchists.

Bullpup has always been my favorite makeup. Hands down. With the tech getting much more efficient, the downsides and problems of bullpup designs are lessening. But those with shorter arms may still need to find ways to adjust

Good comment.

I have only come to learn about the AUG through video games and it looks exactly the same in real life. ;)
I hope you are feeling better and are on a steady recovery! Take care.

Aug is a Beautiful piece of machinery! would love to fire one one day

What even ever happened to FPS Russia? I heard he died... Is that true?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68221.63
ETH 3277.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66