You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's start a conversation.

in #blog6 years ago

The dream is not a dream till the dreamer awakens. There is the illusory nature of existence, how seemingly solid stuff is made up of seemingly empty space.

Does anything really exist outside of the mind? If we perceive it as a simulation with illusory qualities, could it all just be a projection within the mind or of the mind?

Sort:  

Ooooh! Such great questions. Speaking of "awake," that brings us to the definition of consciousness: the state of being awake and aware of one's surroundings. And so to answer your question is consciousness an illusion: a thing that is or is likely to be wrongly perceived or interpreted by the senses. It can be based on who is judging on what is "right or wrong." I personally believe there is no "right or wrong" in life, only what you believe to be true.

Thank you for the compliment and for sharing your thoughts with me. This is lovely. Right or wrong? It's all perception. Is there an absolute morality or is morality something that flexes and changes with the times?

I personally believe that good and bad are perceptions of the human experience and have no bearing on nature. In other words, nature is only good or bad depending on our feelings at the time. In and of itself, these words do not apply to nature, only to our perception of it.

As an analogy consider a see-saw, and on one side is good and on the other side is bad, if you were to sit only on the good side, the see-saw would tilt to that side and have no mobility and the same would be true if you were to sit on the other side, the bad side. In either case, the see-saw is in an abnormal position for by its nature it wants to be balanced but is tilted one way or the other and to get it to balance from either of these extreme positions is very difficult due to the leverage. But, if you were to stand in the middle with one foot on the bad side and the other foot on the good side, with very little effort one can maintain a balance. In nature, everything wants to balance, water flows to the lowest point, an electric potential is all about the potential of imbalance of charge which will move to level itself off, to balance out.

Some people see only duality, and where they see duality, I see a trinity unified. For the duality they see is an expression of the variability of unity. For example, black and white is a duality for most people, for me, the polarity is an expression of extremes, black is one extreme and white is another extreme, but what they do not see is the infinitely variable shades of grey that connects these two extremes unifying them, making them one.

Peace
#daemon-nice

I love love love this! "Some people see only duality, and where they see duality, I see a trinity unified." I believe this wholeheartedly. We are spiritual beings having a human experience and with that experience we have "life" and "living." So, let us conclude and take a look at your last question. Is time objective? Well time is: the indefinite continued progress of existence and events in the past, present, and future regarded as a whole. And to be objective means: (of a person or their judgment) not influenced by personal feelings or opinions in considering and representing facts. So, for me, yes time is objective. Especially when people speak to how long things take, how much patience they have, and etc. A day could be forever for some and a year can be a blink to another. Time is very objective despite us all following the same metric system to "keep us on track" or shall I say "the same page." It is all truly open to interpretation.

Yes, time is objective in its passing, it is we who are subjective when we experience it.
I was really aiming for another question but in my rush, I misused my words. So, let me take it back a step or two.

Q~What is time?
A~Time is not a thing, at best it is a process.

I am going to assume you are in your twenties and for clarity sake, I am in my late fifties. So, we speak from a slightly different perspective as far as our experiences go. The one thing that really blows me away is, how fast time goes by the older I get. This may be an aspect of the biological process, metabolism slowing from age making time seem to whizz by. At times I just sit down for a minute and an hour flies by. When working(I do renos), it seems to fly on by and before I know the day is done. As a kid, a preteen, it seemed to me that time dragged by so tediously slow. Then, of course, my metabolism was a lot higher than it is now and I could eat anything and not put on weight as we ran ran ran about like kids do. Time may pass by objectively, but we seem to experience it subjectively.

This gets me to thinking is this how it is for all things. How does an insect that only lives 24 hours experience those 24 hours? Does it seem for the insect, like 72 years would seem for a human? How does an atom of hydrogen experience time, is it different from say an atom of carbon? Different atoms having different frequencies of vibration, like people of different ages having different metabolisms or different creatures with different metabolism as well as different life spans.

So, while time may perceive all things in the universe objectively, I believe all things in the universe experience time subjectively.

Being open to interpretations is key; the only absolute is, is that there are no absolutes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57859.61
ETH 2966.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67