Today's dream: Jump-scared out of a dream

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Fighting with a ghost knife

The first thing I remember is running on a plaza with a group, then running down a flight of stairs. I think I wasn't really present but just observing. The group that was running was something like an Italian mafia, and at the front was Tommy Vercetti from Vice City (a game most of my generation used to play). As they ran down the flight of stairs, cars stopped down the streets and I wondered "how would I defend against this?".

Perhaps I was in the mood of playing Vice City and that is why when Tommy was approached by the gangsters that were coming to attack them, I started to plan out how to defend myself, and when they got to him, I kind of switched my consciousness into his place and started waving my arms with a knife, then looked from above and I wasn't actually doing anything, just waving my arms around in Tommy's body. I felt frustrated because even though I had knives, I was stabbing and slashing the air and couldn't move coherently.

I then noticed that nothing was actually happening either. Nobody was attacking me and people were passing by me. I kind of faded away watching the tornado of mobsters running from one side to the other and my disinterest probably caused my dream to switch into another scene.

A wounded black man

I don't remember the scenes in between, but the next thing I remember is floating above two people who were running inside a house. They were a black man and a black woman. The black man was wounded. They ran into a bedroom and he lied on the bed. The woman took off his shirt and saw his wounds, and they were very big. I think the woman was Claire Temple from the Daredevil TV series I was watching. I think I was in Claire's body most of the time because I don't remember much of the scene apart from looking at the man lying on the bed and hearing him talk.

The man had a heavy English accent with some strange idiomatic differences from the English I usually work with. He lacked some prepositions and spoke in an interesting manner. There were noises outside and he said something like "we've got no time, run now and (...) then we go in". While I understood what he said, I stopped paying attention to the meaning of the phrase and only paid attention to the way he said it. This is a habit I have; I separate speech from its meaning and only "look" at the voice, the tones, the mouth movements, and when the person is done speaking, I tend to realise that I have no idea what they said, but I examined in detail the way they pronounced it.

It's beautiful but annoying.

They're coming to get me

Then, they left. I don't know if both went out or if I stayed in one of their bodies. All I know is that I was alone in the room where they were after the man said that they had to go. The light had been turned off. They were running because someone was coming, but I had stayed. I heard steps coming closer, noises and moving white lights. I knew they were coming and I knew they would find me if I didn't leave right now. I looked at my sandals and thought: "they are noisy, they will hear me when I'm putting them on".

I started thinking about strategies on how to put on my sandals. I told myself "the right one makes more noise (which is nonsense), so I'll put on the left one first, then the right one, and I'll immediately come out running and find a hiding spot". I don't know why I was so obsessed about sandals when someone was coming to kill me, but dream me doesn't usually make much sense anyway. I stayed to much time thinking that the steps got closer and closer to the door until I realised that they were about to enter.

I was scared at that moment. I thought they were coming in and they were going to see me. At that point, I decided I didn't want to be there anymore and face the horrible consequences, whatever they were, so I opened my eyes and woke up with my heart beating a bit faster than normal and with my stomach turning with slight fear. It was around 7 am and I was sleepy, but it was too late to go back to sleep, so I came and wrote the dream.

It had been a long time since I was affected so much by a dream. It seems getting chased is becoming commonplace in my dreams. It's not the most pleasant of recurring themes, but I'll take it. I hope it changes into something nicer later on. What are the recurring themes in your dreams?


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://cryptosharon.xopus.io/todays-dream-jump-scared-out-of-a-dream/

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Este Post ha sido votado por @gatillo y curado por @bebeth para @steempress-io


https://discord.gg/AgtNh53


Ya que utiliza el servicio de hospedaje de WordPress de @reveur y el plugin de @steempress-io para publicar contenido en nuestro idioma, el #castellano, si deseas saber mas o formar parte, haz click en la imagen para entrar a nuestro discord.

Un proyecto del Witness: @castellano y @nnnarvaez

Hi, @cryptosharon!

You just got a 8.02% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @cryptosharon!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.437 which ranks you at #2104 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 17 places in the last three days (old rank 2087).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 254 contributions, your post is ranked at #206.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63162.99
ETH 2567.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82